Day #12 - Dingboche Acclimitisation Walk - Island Peak


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Dingboche
November 27th 2012
Published: December 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dirge pointed out Island Peak quite early on our trek to Chhukhung - which is also the route that those who go on the Island Peak climb take. At 6189m, Island Peak is considered the easiest 6000m + peak to climb in the Himalaya. Several tour operators include trips to climb Island Peak, even Peregrine with whom I was with. Their website as I recalled suggested no previous climbing experience was required for Island Peak.

Feeling pretty good about the trek so far, my mind did wonder as to whether I should return another year in the near future to attempt this challenge. It sounded like something I could do. The closer we got to Chhukhung and Island Peak the more I thought it should be something I should have a go at.

I can safely say that within a 4 days of thinking this, I had completely and utterly changed my mind, and forever consigned to Island Peak to something beyond my capability - but it was a nice idea while it lasted those few hours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb