Chitwan


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
January 1st 2009
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Caught another local (tourist) bus to Chitwan National Park.. was very excited at the prospect of seeing loads of wildlife - Rhinos, Tigers, Deer, Elephants etc...

Stayed at the Riverside which I really recomend - very much enjoyed sitting by the river and watching the sunset from my hotel bar - beautiful. And met another big group of travellers..

Got up for a very early morning canoe down the river then then into the National park for a jungle walk to supposedly see the wildlife... loved the canoe trip saw many birds .. but the walk was a bit long winded - expecially as it was hot and all the guys showed me was animal dung and some footprints...where is this wildlife? Although was glad not to come across a Rhino when I was walking through the grass plains and was told to climb a tree for safety!

So next was jeep safari - I got to see a couple of crocodiles and lots of tall grass..and was beginning to think i would be the only person never to see any Rhinos at Chitwan..

So final try - the elephant ride...not the most comfortable of treks - but at last I got to see deer and Rhino! Yeay! Loved it.

I then decided to avoid the organised stuff and hire an old bike and head out through the villages to the Elephant Sanctury - got to see new born baby elephants and some beautiful scenery - another great day..

Unfortunately my luck ran out on the food poisoning front and just before my 8 hour bus trip back to Kathmandu I ended up being sick all night... typical...! Luckily recovered quickly..and managed the bus trip.




Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th January 2009

Elephants!
Love the elephants:)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb