Into the Mystery


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Annapurna » Annapurna Circuit
March 27th 2014
Published: March 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The previous day I had broke through a physical wall.

I was in the zone.

It was all about achievement.

There were unseen forces driving me up the rest of those hills; as the waterfalls whispered to me.

I had only my mind and body to conquer. There were a few months of relative inactivity and partying that was putting a weight on me but I trudged through.

Our next destination was Deurali. Do - Rally . That's the actual pronunciation.

This was the only day all of us had enjoyed lunch (or brunch) simply and together as a group. We went through villages with names like Bamboo and Himalaya.

It was starting to get fuckin' magical.

Intuitively I was finding that I was shedding a bit of weight in the physical world but the release of emotions and attachments came with that. I was getting closer to the heart of the earth.

All day I was listening to my iShuffle MP3 player and it helped my rhythm. There was a black and white "Shama Thrush" bird as my grandmother used to call them that flew up with me on the trail. There was a huge river I floated over a few times on my way up and up.

As the late afternoon/evening came I was so far ahead of everyone else and so full of life still that I considered leaving them all behind. I was alone in the clouds. It was starting to get cold and dark. I waited at the top lodge in Deurali drinking tea. I was half anticipating the arrival of my comrades - half ready to spring up the next 4 or 5 kilometers on my own. There was a fire in me I could not explain.

I understood why, a few days later when I returned to civilization.

But for that time there were no fences facing; but the sky.

I decided to stay with my group. It was not out of loneliness but it was a dedication to the friendships I had formed on the trail. I wanted to experience my joy with the others.

I grounded myself and I waited for my cavalry which was following close behind.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb