Malaysia - A strange and magical country


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;"><em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Malaysia - A strange and magical country

Well it’s been quite some time since I wrote on this blog. Since losing my husband of 25 years and soul mate, Brian, the last 5 years of my life have been such a rollercoaster.

Malaysia has to be one of the safest, cleanest, interesting, growing countries in the world, one that I would love to share with everyone. I spent many years here as a child and one day will return again. It isn’t just about shopping and beaches, it has many things to offer, it is an exotic mix of cultures and unforgettable sights. Including wildlife, lively markets, dense jungles, endless tea plantations, meet orang-utans and native head-hunters in Borneo, or just relax after a busy day shopping on the white sands of paradise.

The most amazing experience I have ever had in my life, and which helped me cope with my tragic loss, was working at ZOO NEGARA in Kuala Lumpur. The person, who helped me get through this and never tired of helping, was KATIE McDONALD. She was my inspiration and we are still in touch. She is so dedicated to the welfare of the animals at the Zoo, her strength inspired us all.

I must be one of the proudest people around to know that so many people, over 4500, have read my blogs!! Which I have since had published into a hard back book. I want to thank all the wonderful people in my life who have helped me to get to where I am now. I have been 'lost' for 5 years but a month ago I returned back to the house where Brian died, and I feel 'at home'.

It was time for me to return.....and when you find peace within yourself, you become the kind of person who can live at peace with others.

We often think it’s the other way around–that if people around us were more peaceful, we’d be able to let go of many of our anxieties, fears, and struggles.

No one else causes our emotions. We are the ones deciding how to respond to the world we experience. We are the ones who choose what goes on in our heads and hearts. And we are the ones who decide whether to focus on all the obstacles to peace or to take responsibility for creating it.

Others may not always be peaceful, in fact, it’s a given that at any point in time, countless people will be in conflict, either with others or themselves. Learning to accept that is the first step toward knowing peace.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb