Thanks Ali for 10 great years of Travelblog!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 8th 2012
Published: April 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

You will see over the next few days entries popping on the first page of Travelblog about this 8th of April, the day we celebrated the 10th birthday of Travelblog!

I always tend to write my blogs right after the action has happened. Not great to win any literacy accolades, but at least what I write is actually what I just experienced. So for quality writting about this day, just wait few days, others will do way better than me. Consider this as just an appetizer!



The most important thing for all of us in attendance today was to thank Ali for bringing together this wonderful community. TB wouldn't exist without the bloggers...that's kind of obvious...but it would certainly never have seen the day...and keep the soul of it without the man that bring travelblog.org to live, I name Ali. Mr and Mrs Watters...you can (and I know you are) be proud of Ali....for everybody else, we just can say thanks Mate...what a great job!

So in attendance today, we had Jo Trouble, MichaelnFaye, Dancing Dave,auspicious, Affandy, the man himself, aka blogger 1...Ali, and by skype, The Travel Camel. Hope I didn't forget anybody with all these "coded names"!



I could write here full chapters about all those great bloggers who joined the party for this great day in Kuala Lumpur....I won't because it will take too long. But to make it short, the beauty of travelblog is to be able to bring together people from so many different walk of life, and to integrate them in a community of people who cherish one thing upon most, it's our little planet and the pleasure to travel it as much as they can!



I personally joined TB nearly five years ago. It will be my litte TB birthday in a month time on the 17th of May. I join to this entry the pictures that will remain with me for life.Well, it's actually only a few of them, and the choice was not easy! Why do we write a blog...many reasons...for me is the legacy left to my little ones. If I had to keep only one pictures of my last 5 years, the choice is easy...it's the one of Tiffany and Leslie finally going together to the same school in Bangkok. It may not look like much, but it's all my life!



Travelblolg has today thousands of followers...as Ali put it proudly, we are in the top 8000 of all sites in the world...and yes, that includes ALL the sites. For me, this entry is my 250th one...yes...more than 8600 pictures posted, and just over 100,000 hits...an adventure in itself!



One man to thank for all this, Ali...and a lot more friends done over the years, that I met directly or only through the net.



It's just over midnight, the party closed less than 2 hours ago. Leslie and Tiffany are sleeping deeply...thanks to all my friends, old and new for this great day, thanks Ali for what you did over the last 10 years...and what you'll do over the next ten!



Happy Birthday travelblog.org!






































































a dream come true...a dream come true...

a dream come true...


src='//photos.travelblog.net/38623/s-38623-4.jpg' title='' alt='' id='imgmini-38623'>
Maisondubonheur
November 24th 2007
I can fly...I did fly...
another wonderful souvenir!another wonderful souvenir!

another wonderful souvenir!


February 12th 2008
Antarctica!
Tens of them...upclose...Tens of them...upclose...

Tens of them...upclose...


ok...it's my second jump...we all know it's great fun!ok...it's my second jump...we all know it's great fun!

ok...it's my second jump...we all know it's great fun!


with Scott...and yes, <div class=Denise, Michael and Faye...and the future generation of TB...Denise, Michael and Faye...and the future generation of TB...Denise, Michael and Faye...and the future generation of TB...
that's a big fish!' style='width:300px;height:225px;' id='img-2378167'>with Scott...and yes, that's a big fish!

with Scott...and yes, that's a big fish!


May 30th 2008
Tubbataha, world marine heritage site
a first for Leslie...great fun!a first for Leslie...great fun!

a first for Leslie...great fun!


June 24th 2008
Aspen, adventure, scenery, indulgence....
Some dream their live, I live my dreams....Some dream their live, I live my dreams....

Some dream their live, I live my dreams....


August 14th 2008
Victoria Falls sunset....Zambezi rafting....
on the FortressJo and DaveJo and DaveJo and Dave
the Fortress' alt='on the Fortress' class='photo-protector' style='width:100%;height:225px;left:0;top:0;position:absolute;'>

on the Fortress


December 16th 2008
Little Cirque du Soleil stop-over in Macau
if you love this pic, just view the videos attached!if you love this pic, just view the videos attached!

if you love this pic, just view the videos attached!


March 24th 2009
Big Island, amazing golf and night diving!
LeslieLeslie

Leslie


February 17th 2011
Falling in love with Luang Prabang
dogsledging on the frozen fjorddogsledging on the frozen fjord

dogsledging on the frozen fjord


class='pull-right'>
March 29th 2011
Three days, two nights dogsleding and camping in the big wild white...
Tiffany...on for her first dive!Tiffany...on for her first dive!

Tiffany...on for her first dive!


June 5th 2011
Koh Tao, one more diver in the family!
Crayeres of Veuve Clicquot Crayeres of Veuve Clicquot

Crayeres of Veuve Clicquot


July 18th 2009
Champagne...friends and bubbles...the dream team!
Discovering canyoning!...and I'm afraid of heights!Discovering canyoning!...and I'm afraid of heights!

Discovering canyoning!...and I'm afraid of heights!


alt='' id='imgmini-38623'>
Maisondubonheur
October 29th 2009
Canyoning and more...15km from Tibet
Silverback and cub....cute...Silverback and cub....cute...

Silverback and cub....cute...


March 14th 2010
Tracking gorillas in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and trekking the Mgahinga Volcano
Diving Easter Island...Diving Easter Island...

Diving Easter Island...


July 29th 2010
Easter Island, the Moais and a little diving...
The Eyes of OkavangoThe Eyes of Okavango

The Eyes of Okavango


November 22nd 2010
Okavango Delta, the wildlife paradise of Nxabega
Krak des ChevaliersKrak des Chevaliers

Krak des Chevaliers


January 1st 2011
Krak des Chevaliers, a dream place for every 10 years old in us!
Tiffany and LeslieTiffany and Leslie

Tiffany and Leslie


October 17th 2011
Colombo, our first stop in Sri Lanka



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

We miss you Shane!We miss you Shane!
We miss you Shane!
No comments..wait Dave blog to understand...No comments..wait Dave blog to understand...
No comments..wait Dave blog to understand...
The future of TB!The future of TB!
The future of TB!
Inner Sanctum of TB!Inner Sanctum of TB!
Inner Sanctum of TB!
Leslie....Leslie....
Leslie....
Shane, live from Brisbane...Shane, live from Brisbane...
Shane, live from Brisbane...
Skype session with Shane!Skype session with Shane!
Skype session with Shane!
If you know TB inner sanctum very well, you will understand...if not...what a moment!If you know TB inner sanctum very well, you will understand...if not...what a moment!
If you know TB inner sanctum very well, you will understand...if not...what a moment!
After the party, the dinner...logic...After the party, the dinner...logic...
After the party, the dinner...logic...
well...by now...Tiffany is a little dead...well...by now...Tiffany is a little dead...
well...by now...Tiffany is a little dead...
What a day! Making great new friends!What a day! Making great new friends!
What a day! Making great new friends!


8th April 2012

Wonderful stuff :)
I looks like you all had a wonderful time Peter :) Dave is looking a bit red faced which no doubt means he has been on the plonk, although he will probably put it down to too much sun ;) Just as well I didn't come really. Mrs Cockle and I would of no doubt kept you all up into the early hours!!!
8th April 2012

Looks like you had a lot of fun, guys! I wish I could have been there... so many of my favourite bloggers in the same place!!! :o)
8th April 2012

Lovely blog
How lovely to see the photos of you all, we are very proud of Ali, but as Ali says himself, its all you bloggers and such friendly moderators and Affandy, who make it such a brilliant site, nice to see all of you enjoying the sunshine - very cold and wet here in North Norfolk UK! Great that you've done a blog straight away, thank you very much, Bridget and Robert (Ali's mum and dad) 1
8th April 2012
No comments..wait Dave blog to understand...

Oh dear, this look ominous...
Maybe giving Dave my photo was not such a good idea after all!
8th April 2012
Shane, live from Brisbane...

The highlight of my day!
It was great seeing all of you from Australia, sorry I couldn't be there in person. Looks like I missed out on an amazing day, including the chance to talk to Leslie about the Clone Wars animated series!
9th April 2012

Great to finally meet you and the kids PA - glad you could make it! And what a fun, special weekend :-)
9th April 2012

It was a pleasure to host everyone for the party!
I had a lot of fun, completely exhausted by the end of the day - I think I slept as well as Tiffany!
9th April 2012

Thanks for the great Day!
We all had a great day, and to see the comments, simply show me which kind of family affair TB is starting to look like! Enjoy your next stop Ali...and hopefully diving with you soon!
9th April 2012

Greetings from Fiji
Hi Peter, Leslie and Tiffany! It's nice keeping up with all your news - and it looks like you've been having lots of fun in 2012 already! Everything is good in our little Dolphin Bay Divers corner in Fiji. We're counting sharks this month on all our dives as part of a Fiji-wide data collection project - we need your keen eyes here to help us! Best wishes to you all and Happy Easter Zoe
9th April 2012

Wish we are back soon....
Hi Zoe, Nice to read you comment. We wish we could be back soon, but few more "waters" to discover around the world before we come back to what we have already done. Diving tomorrow in Pulau Tenggol, Malaysia, but first, we arte spending the night on the bus... Hope to dive with you again soon...in Fiji, or anywhere else...2012-2013 diving planing start to look pretty fun...
9th April 2012
Happy Birthday TB! And thanks Ali!

well isn't this lovely :)
happy 10th again travelblog =)
9th April 2012

Wish I was there!
What a riot I missed. Love that photo of Shane :-) Thanks for posting this straight away, Peter. Been eager for news. Looks like you all had fun! Happy Easter Monday, you all!
10th April 2012

WHAT A BLAST
Cracker event in KL Pierre...there you were Peter...great to meet you...and your beautiful kids...they are a credit to a great Dad...and sharing stories...we have just started..! Can't believe I thought I wouldn't need my Quadblock on the Sunday...and somehow lost African CDs for Ali in a taxi...guess as we partied for 3 days in KL...had my mind on other things..! Thanks for not giving too much away...leaving some surprises for the dancing one...watch this space.

Tot: 0.863s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 82; qc: 222; dbt: 0.4627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb