Welcome to the other side of the world.


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

my route


Dear friends & family,

I hope you are enjoying your summers and getting outside as much as possible. My adventure began May 15th when I stepped off the plane and officially started living overseas away from the mothership. I can sum up my experiences thus far in one sentence: Life in KL is a blast!

The people are warm and welcoming here. Two weeks ago, I went to KLCC (the retail portion of the Petronas Towers) and I forgot where I parked my car in their massive garage. The patrolling security guard suggested I jump on the back of his motorcycle to speed up the process. Who am I to turn down a helping hand? I jumped on and we sped off in search of the Proton, the locally made company car. Needless to say, there were a few strange looks and smirks from passerby who thought I just literally got ‘picked up‘ by this security guard.

The food is ridiculously good, cheap, and arrives in heaping helpings. Everyone here is all about their food and the conversation tends to revolve around where you ate earlier, and what the plan is for the next meal. The amounts of food you eat are important too. I learned this the hard way when, after eating lunch with a few coworkers, I asked for a to-go box. They laughed hysterically at the thought that this American, who has 3 to 6 inches on each of them, can’t even finish his puny lunch. What a wimp. Fast forward 2 hours later and I have others in the office asking me, ‘what’s this I hear about you not finishing you’re lunch?’ Apparently the idea of leftovers is not practiced here.

The weather is hot, humid, and tropical, which means big thunderstorms with downpours occasionally in the afternoons. I have already adjusted to the humidity and it is honestly not that bad. You don’t automatically start sweating as soon as you leave the comfort of your AC, or air-con as the Malaysians refer to it, but if exercise outdoors it’s another story. I must have lost 5 pounds of water weight the first time I went for a run.

So far, most of my friends outside of work are expatriates like myself. Working away from their home country for one reason or another. We all tend to band together since we are all in the same boat; new city, new country, new language, new everything. I now have a few friends from the UK, one from Canada, one from Venezuela, one from New Zealand, and one from the Philippines. KL is definitely a melting pot. Outside of the expat community, Malaysia consists of Chinese, Indian, and Malay ethnic groups. Everyone says that Malaysia’s diverse population lives in harmony together, but it’s only half true. Yes, they all live alongside each other, but most ethic groups tend to run with their own. Even the neighborhoods seem a bit segregated at first glance. I’m sure I will get a better feel for all of these nuances during my stay.

A few facts & happenings:

Juice boxes are an acceptable beverage at business meetings. I learned this when our clients, attorneys, and the founder of JLW, all popped the straws out of the plastic wrap and started drinking down their favorites such as mango and apple. Of course, I had to join in as well. Wish I had photos of everyone arguing with the multiple empty juice boxes strewn across the boardroom table.

Mobile phone ringtones in the workplace are not only accepted, but encouraged to be as loud as possible. Everyday I hear either a baby cry when a text comes in, Usher’s ‘Yeah, Yeah, Yeah’ song from back in the day (that one is used by my boss), or one of Beyonce’s jams blaring from one of my coworker’s desk. It is constant throughout the day and I am just starting to get used to it. But if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em...I’m thinking my new ringtone should be the Beastie Boys classic ‘Sabotage’. As always, I am open to suggestions.

I move out of my hotel, the Nomad SuCasa, on Sunday and will be shuttling my things over to the new apartment. It is located in the Taman Maluri neighborhood of KL, close to the Royal Selangor Golf Club which I will be constantly tempted to sneak on to. Photos to come.

I landed my first client last week...woo hoo! Either I got lucky or the American accent opens doors over here, not sure which is more accurate.

I am planning my first trip for the weekend of July 4th with the first visitors I will be hosting in KL! A couple of solid college friends, Carolyn & Jake, are traveling through and we are meeting up with another Jayhawk who is living in Singapore. Even on the other side of the world, you can find a KU crew. I’m sure a few international rock chalk chants will be belted over drinks. No details have been officially locked down, but it sounds like we are going to Indonesia and trying to stay in private huts on the beach. My first real trip outside Malaysia!

Cheers,

Adam


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

we took the scenic routewe took the scenic route
we took the scenic route

a jungle reserve surrounds the telecom tower so you go from city to jungle in a flash.


12th June 2009

Nice T-Shirt!
Hey, buddy! Looks like you're off to a great start! I love the tie-died t-shirt...
15th June 2009

Awesome. Glad you're enjoying yourself. It looks like you're in for the experience of a lifetime!
15th June 2009

Out of all of these awesome pics, I honestly love the one of your blue work phone the best. That's hilarious!!! Can already see what a great time you are having! I'm happy for ya :)
15th June 2009

Jealous
Wow, Adam, it looks like you're living the high life! We're jealous of you down here in low, low Kansas. Maybe I should say, "flat, flat Kansas?" Yeah, flat. Lunch looks good.
15th June 2009

Tiger Beer
Tiger Beer- my favorite over there, because if your waitress doesn't speak English, you can order it by making tiger claws with your hands and growling.
16th June 2009

Lookin Good!
Adam, Nice work! This travel blog of yours is pretty cool! Lookin foward to hearin more about your adventures in Malaysia!! We're practically neigbors now! haha Anna (Ronda)
17th June 2009

Great first blog!!
Hi Adam I enjoyed your first blog. I will forward the site to teachers and my friends! Mary Beth
18th June 2009

Wow
Sounds amazing and what an adventure. Can't to wait to hear more. Hugs and kisses from all of us.
20th June 2009

Enjoyed your pictures
Sounds like you are adjusting really well. Have you met any other Americans. Do they speak English in your office? Beautiful Hindu temple. Very interesting how you can go from city to "jungle" so quickly. So you actually drive over there too ?? You have to be young to make all of these adjustments and sleep at night. Hope to hear from you again. Love, Aunt Suzie
20th June 2009

Thanks for Sharing
Adam, Leta and I are pleased to have the opportunity to follow your adventures in KL. Your photo's are terrific and I am so pleased you have the travel curiosity of your parents. Happy two years and we will subscribe to your adventures. Stay safe and chase your mom home when she gets bored. Dennis
22nd June 2009

your exciting new life
Hi Adam, Your mom sent me your blog and I'm really enjoying it! It's very interesting and the pictures are terrific. I would love to see everything you've included - except the snake around your neck - you can keep that. We get a number of applications to the UW every year from Malaysia and I enjoy reading their essays. They're usually the top students so their chances of admission are very good. It will be very interesting to get your perspective as well. Take care and enjoy every moment. This is the time of your live. Cheers from Seattle, your norskie cousin, Mary

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb