Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 20th 2007
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Malaysia at Kuala Lumpur (KL) the capital city. At night as we pulled into the station you could see the massive glow of the lights on the Petronas Towers and the impressive skyline. A taxi to my hotel cost 2 pounds and I realised this was perhaps when it starts to get cheap, Singapore was not the cheapest place, I expected less anyway! Staying at a nice 4 star hotel for peanuts with pool and restaurants etc for a whole week, bliss.

A lot of ESPN watching and eating great food for the first few days, English Premier League is huge out here and they show almost every match. Caught Arsenal v Villa and Everton while ordering room service. Went I finally braved Daylight, I found Kuala Lumpur to be a really great city. Very pretty, they call it the city of Trees and it is also clean on the whole. The skyline is impressive and is dominated by the Petronas Twin Towers, until 2004 the tallest buildings in the world. They are an impressive sight by day but at night they are lit up beautifully and look a silver colour which is awesome. Suprisingly the best view of the city is not from these towers as they only allow guests to observe from the walk way bridge half way up. Still impressive but the best views of the city are from the Menara KL tower, which is similar to the CN tower in Toronto. The view is amazing as you are almost as high as the Petronas towers. Unfortunately the pollution in the city means it is a little hazy at the top viewing downwards. After the towers I headed to Menarka Square which is where the country of Malaysia became an independent country some 50 plus years ago. I even went to the National History Museum here, mainly because it cost only 15 pence to visit. 3 minutes later when I realised they didn't have a bar, I was back on the road. I jumped in a taxi and had a guide for an hour or so, costing maybe 3 pounds for the whole time. He took me to the Royal Palace, which was pretty boring really, couldn't really see too much but he was proud of his country and wanted to show me stuff, so I went along with it, I-pod blaring in my other ear. One thing was funny, just driving down the road, I saw a family of little monkies in a car park, well of course I was going mental in the back of the taxi, saying to the driver, "look monkeys", he just laughed at me getting so excited! Felt a bit silly afterwards as he probably sees them everyday, oh well.

On the friday night, it was party night. I went to dinner at Planet Hollywood as they had cheap cocktails which was probably 5 shots of strong stuff and an umbrella. Then we hit a great bar area by the Petronas Towers to the Beach bar and Rum Jungle, on advice from my old pals at Dial a Flight. Was a great night actually, a live band of african guys singing cool songs and then a DJ playing the western stuff. Everyone at this bar, instead of buying shots and mixers, they buy bottles of Spirits and the mixers just come round free with ice etc. Well not to be outdone, I ordered a litre of Absolute Vodka and got totally pissed, a little boogie with some local ladies and I was done. Leftovers in hand, I was back to the hotel and pretty well passed out in bed, messy but great night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Eye on MalaysiaEye on Malaysia
Eye on Malaysia

No where near as impressive as London Eye
Kuala Lumpur SkylineKuala Lumpur Skyline
Kuala Lumpur Skyline

Photo taken from Eye on Malaysia
KL Opera House with towers in distanceKL Opera House with towers in distance
KL Opera House with towers in distance

Asian version of the Sydney Opera House
Menarka SquareMenarka Square
Menarka Square

Place where Malaysia declared itself an indepedent country. A very famous place in the history of Malaysia
Petronas WalkwayPetronas Walkway
Petronas Walkway

Not a great view, compred to the higher 360 degree view of the KL tower
The huge golden statue a the cavesThe huge golden statue a the caves
The huge golden statue a the caves

In the background the some 300 steps to reach the Caves, in the humidity it was bloody hard


22nd March 2007

Hey Nick - still enjoying your blogs. Bet you cheated and got a stairlift up the 300 steps!!! Not sure if you're getting my texts, but looking forward to catching up at the w/e with a long chat.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb