Day 118: Sydney, Australia, to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sydney to Kuala Lumpur


Day 118: Thursday, March 25th, 2010.
Sydney, Australia to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

So I got up a few hours before checkout and I went to find a post office to mail some stuff back to the States. I just wanted to get rid of some of the weight in the backpack so I was sending paperwork (trip souvenirs and such), clothing that I still wanted, a back up hard drive of my pictures, and underwater disposable camera that I had used on the Reef but forgot to get processed and a LOTR Location book that I had picked up in New Zealand and had kept forgetting to mail off. None of it suspicious stuff, but I ended up having to open the box twice after it was sealed because it ends up I couldn't send the camera (had batteries that might leak) nor the book- it was against customs to ship books. So, looks like those two will be continuing on my travels with me. Maybe I'll remember to get the photos developed before going home, but I doubt it.

There's really not much to report today. Got to the airport with plenty of time to spare and hopped on a Malaysian Airline plane to Kuala Lumpur. 8 hours and 3 movies later ("Twilight: New Moon", "Law Abiding Citizen", and "The Blind Side") I was there. I did have a giggle at one of the male flight attendants who kept going around asking "would you like some tea?" in an Asian Snagglepuss voice. I decided to check into the Pan Pacific Hotel which is connected to the airport in the international terminal. At first I thought "hell no" when they said their price was something like 380 for just 11 hours, then they converted it to US and it was $101. To sleep in a bed, have a shower, and not worry about my belongings all night, it was worth it.

Advertisement



12th April 2010

You became an international book smuggler?
Careful not to get the camera x-rayed too much before you develope the film. Might lose the awesome shots.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb