Another Journey Begins


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » Bukit Bintang
September 6th 2013
Published: September 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My journey started leaving Mount Gambier on Friday. After advertising for someone to transport 26kg of kids clothing to Melbourne for me, I was lucky to snag a lift as well with my friend Kira and her partner Tommy. Halfway there, we pulled into a bottle shop and got some 'roadies' to pass the time. Lynn met me in Melbourne and after a mad dash for some last minute shopping, we arrived at Lynns close to 10pm. On the Saturday morning, I was due to meet with a new trainer to do a session and see if we were 'compatible'. My plan to maybe hit the figure competitor stage next year has hit a snag lately with my weight gain and inability to shift the fat. Lynn's daughter Kylee and her man were kind enough to drive me into South Melbourne and hang around while I trained. Aaron my trainer, put me through a tough leg and shoulder workout. He had me doing 180kg leg presses and I thought I was going to die. I had an instant headache! lol



Once back at Lynns, we went for coffee with Kylee and Parbz and then met Lynn's other daughter Renee for lunch. Renee has just had a baby, a gorgeous little girl Shelby and I got to have baby cuddles all through lunch! That night we went out to dinner with one of Lynn's friends and Lynn's son, Liam. Halfway through dinner I got a massive cramp in my right calf and then it became really sore. I had trouble sleeping all night and when I lay on my left side I would get pins and needles in my right thigh. Sunday morning, completely stressed over my calf, I went to the hospital. I was CONVINCED I had a bloody blood clot in my leg for some reason, so Lynn drove me to the hospital and sat with me for 4 hours until I was seen! I was such a cry baby thinking it would be a blood clot and I wouldnt be able to fly out that night lol. Always the drama queen! After being seen by the doctor and getting a blood test to check for a blood clot we headed to TGIF for lunch. I had the best beef nachos ever and just after finishing lunch received a call from Dr BIRD saying I was cleared to FLY as it was not a blood clot and probably just a muscle issue (thanks Aaron! lol). Such a sook! Lynn has an undiagnosed skin thing, that comes and goes like a rash... so she decided to get a cortisone shot to ward it off while we were away. This was done during the week but it seems as though she was either having a reaction to the injection or it had 'stimulated' the skin rash.. as she was starting to break out with this red rash all over her body... Great pair we make huh



With my leg seen to, it was time to get excited. Kevin, Lynn's husband drove us to the airport and we met Kylee there for a final drink. We were dismayed to see our flight had been delayed by 3 hours meaning we would be sitting around the airport until 3.30am! Air Asia were great and gave us a $20 voucher for food / drink and after saying goodbye to Kylee we headed through customs. We spend our $20 voucher and then settled on the floor of the airport near a powerpoint to charge the phones and wait out the delay. It was so freezing cold and Lynn's rash was starting to really affect her. We eventually boarded the plane about 3am and were in the air by 3.30am. Air Asia staff explained that they had a medical emergency on the previous flight and had to divert to Perth. Just glad it wasnt our flight.



We settled in, had a feed and spent the next 9 hours whiling away time. We landed in Kuala Lumpur around 10am and headed straight to White Town Cafe for breakfast of Malaysian Coffee and Toast. After breakfast, and lugging the 26kg of luggage, my 19kg backpack and Lynns bright pink 7kg suitcase we headed to the taxi stand to get a taxi. Originally I thought we might leave the kids clothes in storage overnight as we were back really early the next day but it was too expensive and better just to take it with us... when we got to the taxi stand we realised that we should have bought a taxi voucher in the arrivals hall but couldnt go back in there.. The guy at the taxi stand told me to go into the domestic terminal. I then had to beg the police officer in there to let me the domestic arrivals area to get a taxi voucher. Because of all our luggage we had to pay 102 MYR for our taxi (I was expecting 60!).



We arrived at Sahabat Guesthouse about 12 exhausted, but our room was not ready. We told the guy we would go for a walk for half hour and off we set.... We went in search of a chemist to get some cream for Lynn's leg which looked really bad by this stage... and that proved more difficult then we imagined... the Chemist's either didnt have a bloody Pharmacist or they were on a break! We went shopping and I found a great denim mini skirt which I got for $28 AUD. The guy swiped my card on the machine but it wouldnt work so he went and did it on another machine. Later I found out that it had worked... on both machines, so it ended up in another trip back there to get it sorted. The staff were great and quickly found the mistake.



After some shopping we ended up at my favourite Malaysian restaurant, Dragon-i for lunch where we pigged out on Peking Duck, hand spun noodles and Shanghainese dumplings. We were still looking for a Pharmacist at this stage so went back to one of the Chemists that the Pharmacist had been having a break. After leaving there we decided to get an iced coffee and the guy behind the counter convinced us to try these 'signature' buns he was selling... they were TO DIE FOR. They would probably be the BEST thing we have both ever eaten! We had a 2nd one and they were so good. We then rolled out of the shopping centre and headed back to the hotel. I decided I needed a foot massage so we stopped at a little massage place... I was soon MORTIFIED to discover that my cheap ass fake Haiviana's had stained the bottoms of my feet black. At first I thought it was dirt but after watching the poor guy scrub and scrub and scrub I soon realised it was stained! lol so embarrassing but we did have a good giggle. It was at this point I realised the double charge for my skirt so we headed back for the refund before returning to the hotel. We had our 2nd wind by this stage so showered and then headed to Jalan Alor for dinner. We found a fantastic little restaurant that was the busiest on the strip and full of Asians so decided it was the one to eat at... we pigged out on chicken wings, chicken satays and roast pork then again rolled back to the guesthouse... I felt I hadn't done enough damage to the waistline so stopped off at a street vendor selling homemade Turkish icecream and ordered a chocolate one! The guy was hilarious and did this little show where he went to give me the icecream but kept pulling it away... or pretending to drop it.. and it was so cold that the icecream was stuck to the paddle he served it will so at one point i was left standing there holding an empty cone. He was very funny.



Once we got back to the hotel, we collapsed in bed both dismayed that it was already 10pm and we had a 4am alarm! Unfortunately our flight was at 6.50am and it was an hour drive to the airport... Our taxi driver had the tiniest car and was not too impressed by our large amount of luggage, but we had paid 120MYR so he had to suck it up... On the way to the airport we were lost for words when he was driving at 140km per hour and were even more speechless at a car that zoomed past us doing at least 170! Crazy drivers! Once we arrived at the airport we quickly checked in and went in search of coffee. Once on our flight we were served pancakes and fresh coconuts. We were extremely amused, snapping selfies with our coconuts! lol Thats enough carry on for now however.. next blog Siem Reap....



Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



6th September 2013

Watch out Reet & Lynn are on Holidays
Looks like you both are enjoying yourselves. Have fun. Ed
6th September 2013

really looking forward to more reading of your adventures xxx
6th September 2013

Dragon-I memories!
Enjoy yourselves. Off to a cracking start. Mmmmmm soup dumplings. That place rocks! I wonder what fabulous person recommended it? Ha

Tot: 0.348s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 26; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb