Malaysia


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Burger king to the rescue! Starbuck's wifi was down, KL's free wifi was down for maintenance and the nearby maccas doesn't have wifi.

So here i sit in KLCC, a shopping complex beneath the Petronas Towers slowly eating a sundae after having Nasi Goreng for lunch. I tried to get one of the ~1600 free tickets to climb the skybridge but i got here too late. I knew they would be popular but didn't think they would go in the first 2 hours. Maybe i should've walked here instead of taking the scenic bus around town this morning. But i wanted to give my legs a rest after yesterday.

How do describe this place? It's like chapel street with a shopping centre the size of Chadstone on every corner. Yesterday i wandered my way through Low Fat Plaza, Sungei Wang, BB Plaza, Lot 10 and Pavillion and by the time i explored all them my feet were dead. But i had to push on through KLCC Park to the Petronas Towers to get some photos. I made it just in time as a thunderstorm rolled through giving me an awesomely long, wet, sweaty, sore walk back to the hotel. All a part of the fun. Last night i went back to the main drag of Bukit Bintang and expected to see the night markets only to realise they live on the back streets. Rain started again so after dinner i headed for the biggest building around, Times Square. Think of it as Chadstone ×5. It's 12 storeys high and even features a theme park.

Needless to say the shopping here is incredible. Although Low Fat Plaza seems a bit over the top. 10 floors dedicated to technology, sounds good but u don't really need 500 shops selling the same phones. My hotel is quite nice, not only did the doorman help me brings me luggage inside, he brought it up to my room too. The hotel is easy to spot, partially coz it's white but mainly coz it's got a massive building being built directly behind it. Luckily my room has a view out the other side.

I better go now, going to head back to Bukit Bintang for more shopping, i get the feeling another storm will come late afternoon. Sorry for having no photos, they are all on my camera not my phone so i can't upload them unless i go to an internet cafe. Btw, the Petronas Towers are gorgeous. Forget Fed Square or the Birdsnest Stadium, this is how architecture should be done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb