Perhentian Paradise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
April 25th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I may have lied when I said that Koh Phi Phi was the most beautiful beach. The Perhentian Islands are a definite challenger. The crystal clear aquamarine water definetly tops Koh Phi Phi or anywhere in Thailand for that matter. We spent countelss hours playing in the huge surf. The rainy season is just ending here so somtimes the waves get big enough to surf in! Such a fun time in the water. After our first couple days though the surf died down and that was equally as beautiful as we could just lay on our backs and float through the waves without getting a face full of seawater! The view from the beach is superb as well; lush jungle all around and the water gets progressively darker as it gets deeper but still remains inpecably clear. The beach itself could be a bit cleaner. Most islands here havn't seemed to figure out the best way to dispose of all the garbage around. Efforts are being made, and as a celebration of Earth Day (April 22) we pitched in to help clean the beach and I also went on a dive to help clean rubbish from the bottom of the sea.

Speaking of diving, I did two fabulous dives besides the clean up dive. I saw more stingrays, nudibranch, lionfish, eels, and fish of allsorts (big ones too) and the best part is that I have starte to spot them on my own. I am getting to know where they hide out and how to appraoch them so I can be close and they wont get scared and swim away. I need to work on my air intake and regulating it so I dont use so much so quickly but I am told thins only comes with practice!

Brookes and I met an Irish couple who lived in the bunglaow next to us. We got along great with them and pretty much hung out with them all day and all night and played copious amount of our new favourite cardgame: shithead, taught to us by two english blokes. We also ate delicious seafood dinners together, drinking the local "monkey juice" (like an amber rum) at night and lounging my the beach during the day. We had a fabulous time with them and I reckon I even started to pick up a bit of an Irish accent by the time we aid goodbye to them on Tuesday afternoon! They are also on their way to Kuala Lumpu so hopefully we will catch up with them then.



Advertisement



29th April 2006

Paradise!
For sure! This sounds like a "Holiday," and you've had the best luck - great surf and calm beach in the same week! Sounds "mahvelus, dahling!" Wish I could be there... Good for keeping up with the diving experiences - underwater cameras on hand? At the beach playing card games, drinking monkey juice and eating seafood with new Irish friends - who could ask for anything more! Nice going.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb