Kuching


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
October 28th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kuching is a pleasant city/town with tasty Laksa (for breakfast of course) for 4 Ringitt about $1.30 it has a chinese/ malay feel with a smattering of Indigenous cultures thrown in.
I hesitated about visiting another Orang utan centre but I'm so glad I went because 'Ritchie' the dominant male showed up for a feed of bananas and sugar cane, those animals are awesome up close and personal a little too close at one stage when I decided to make a hasty retreat.
I was wondering what to do next when I met up with 3 single women i.e women traveling by themselves, we went to the cultural village for the day and had a hoot visiting traditional longhouses and blowing darts.
Some longhouses are as the names suggests ...long with 100 doors, one for each family.
So within the span of a few hours my plans (what plans?) went from staying in a longhouse for three days a long way a way to booking a flight to Mulu a UNESCO listed national park a long way away for the last 6 days of my stay in Borneo. So I am traveling with a Canadian woman who is 66 years old
the jungle safari groupthe jungle safari groupthe jungle safari group

some of the wildlife in the jungles of Sabah
and been traveling for 14 years.

PS. wrote this blog about a week ago just realised I had only saved it and not published it, so it is pretty old news.
Take care out there


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb