The Rest of Sabah


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah
January 29th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sabah: December 2-10

Sabah was not just my hike up Mt. Kinabalu-
I also explored the capital, Kota Kinabalu, and ventured over to Sandakan in the east and visited the Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Center and the Rainforest Discovery Center.


I was completely ignorant of the fact that Ramadan was on, and especially that this would impact my traveling. Hari Raya Aidilfitri, the end of Ramadan, is a time when many Malaysians travel to visit family, so buses were booked nearly solid and the tourist office was closed when I wanted to go. Although I really wish I had gotten to explore more of Borneo, like the Kinabatangan River, I was really lucky to see everyone dressed in bright traditional outfits on Hari Raya and take a bit more time to just survey Sandakan. There were very very few foreigners there, but I found it to be very enjoyable and interesting.


I encountered nothing but kindness from people in Malaysia, although I had heard and read warnings for women travelers there. The people of Sabah were even more friendly than on the mainland, and I felt like everyone at the markets was honest and fair about prices- much more so than in Bali. In Bali, people had no qualms about trying to charge four times the price for fruit while in Sabah I was told the real price.




Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

"ABC"- Air Batu Campur"ABC"- Air Batu Campur
"ABC"- Air Batu Campur

A typically-Malaysian dessert: sweet corn, grass jelly, sweet beans, cendol (tapioca noodles), and other colorful and sweet unknowns are added to crushed ice and topped with super sweet soy milk.
At the Rainforest Discovery CenterAt the Rainforest Discovery Center
At the Rainforest Discovery Center

Pineapples are bromeliads!


30th January 2009

:)
I don't think those are Japanese cemetary.They are Chinese's
30th January 2009

Oops
Thank you Alanna! We first thought that it was Chinese also, but then were told by someone that it was Japanese. Im not an expert but I don't want to get it wrong so I'll change it.
1st February 2009

:)
Keep updating ur blog.I've been following it. ^_^
21st February 2009

Hey Polina! Any pictures from Cambodia or Thailand?? Keep updating your blog, its fun to read.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb