Finally...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary
October 17th 2010
Published: October 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is customary in Malaysia to refer to a place according to the distance it is located from a larger town. Sepilok is Malay for “14” meaning it is 14 miles out of Sandakan, Sabah’s 2nd city (which by the way seems to have a lot more character than KK...). Sepilok consists of a few private houses, some lodges and B&Bs, the rainforest discovery centre, a research station, a couple of shops and of course the orang-utan rehabilitation centre. We are staying at Sepilok Resthouse, a lovely wooden building next to the entrance to the centre. The surroundings are tranquil and picturesque and sitting on the balcony on our first evening, listening to the sounds of the jungle I felt very privileged to be here.

The first few days were filled with lectures about the project, about our tasks and about dos and don’ts. Unfortunately we are not under any circumstances allowed to take pictures neither of the baby orang-utans nor of our workplace. It’s a shame, but we really have to abide by the rules. So any of the orang-utan pictures I’m going to post on here will be of platform A, which is open to the public. Here near-rehabilitated and the occasional wild orang-utan return up to twice a day for some food, often joined by greedy, squabbling macaques.

We will be divided in groups of 3 and take turns to work in 4 blocks of 9 days, each at different sites. I’ve worked as a volunteer on several other projects before, but this is the first one where I feel we are really needed. The workload is huge and during the weeks when there are no volunteers the centre sometimes struggles to cope.

And then, finally, the day arrived when we got introduced to our little charges. Over the past few months I’d often tried to imagine what it would be like to hold the hand of an orang-utan. But I was not prepared for the warm, soft feel of the pink, human-like palm when a little orang-utan gently took my hand. And words cannot describe how I felt at that moment...




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

SandakanSandakan
Sandakan

the swastika is a symbol for good luck
Sandakan Memorial ParkSandakan Memorial Park
Sandakan Memorial Park

The park is on the site of a former POW camp where Australian and British soldiers were kept imprisoned by the Japanese during the 2nd world war and then forced to march 240 km through the jungle to Ranau. Only 6 of the 2400 POWs survived. It’s a tale of human cruelty on one side and human endurance on the other.
Kampung Buli Sim Sim Kampung Buli Sim Sim
Kampung Buli Sim Sim

stilt fishing village on the original site of Sandakan town.
Agnes Keith's HouseAgnes Keith's House
Agnes Keith's House

the author of "Three Came Home" lived here from 1930 until 1952
the Banana Cafethe Banana Cafe
the Banana Cafe

we hang out here after work for internet and a cold beer...
RonnieRonnie
Ronnie

one of the wild orang-utans around Sepilok


18th October 2010

Finally
...Hi Juliane, hope you are keeping well.....So, you have finally made it to the Orang-utans! How wonderful for you....and of course all of the other helpers. I love reading your blogs...I cannot imagine the feeling you must be experiencing right now but am sure it is that of a Mother holding her new baby...giving all the love and protection you can. It is wonderful that there are people like you and of course all the other volunteers around the world who are able to help and of course want to help. I know you will now be extra busy with your work ....so 'til next time.......stay well, good luck ...and of course enjoy every precious moment.......Love and Hugs....Linda & family xxxx
23rd October 2010

hola
hola guapa!!! Great to see how much you are enjoying but more even beeing useful to these precious orang goutans! Here winter has nearly arrived, and work load is quite huge, keeping me and my mind busy. I just dove this morning but brrrr water is really cold, and I am missing a lot sipadan and its clear, warm and fishy waters! but what can I do? this what I got here and better than nothing. Give a hug to all your new friends, I am jalous, but I can get big licks by my dogs, jaja. Big bisous and give me a sign time to time ok? rosa
3rd November 2010

Oh Julchen, wie wunderschoen das du endlich dieses Ziel erreicht hast. Dein letzter Satz ....."a little orang-utan gently took my hand" loest bei mir unbeschreibliche Gefuehle aus!!! Ich freue mich so sehr fuer dich und bin dir unendlich Dankbar das du deine Reise mit uns teilst!
9th March 2011

Great story and picture
Hi Juliane, i like the way you write your experiences and what you see along your journey. I am one of the family member who run the Sepilok Jungle Resort. Thank you for spending your time at our Banana Cafe. I am blogging about Sandakan in Chinese ( www.sandakantours.blogspot.com). I would like to share some of your stories at Sepilok in my blog in Chinese. Do you allow me? i am sure would acknowledge you in my blog. Thank you Cheers Jasmine
4th September 2011

hi
this is fabulous;-) would love to do that as well - can you send me contact to the conservation center? enjoy
15th September 2011

volunteeering at Sepilok
Try www.travellersworldwide.com. They are the company that sends volunteers to Sepilok. Good luck! It's definitely worth it.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb