Third world doctors


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
November 5th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last morning in Borneo, and I have spent most of it in the Doctors office. Yes, my worst fear came true. I had to see a doctor in a third world country.

My left ear has been leaking clear fluids since my diving trip. At first I thought it was just excess salt water. Day two, I was just trying to convince myself it was. Day three and I woke up with a wet pillow case and mats in my hair from the ear junk. I couldn't continue telling myself it was just excess water. An ear canal just isn't that big. Something was wrong. So it's off to the doctors office or 'klinik' with images of 'piles, lumps, and accupunture' going through my head. It too ke a while to find a klinik that was open on a Sunday morning, but with ten different directions from ten different Malays who spoke ten words of English, I finally stumbled upon one. To my relief they spoke very good english in the clinic, and within minutes I was ushered in to see Dr. Suzaine. I explained the situaion of my left ear problem and diving etc. She first looked in my right ear, and with a bewildered expression asked "This is the good ear??" Not a good sign. Next she looked inthe left ear and said "I can't even see the ear drum in this one". An even worse sign. Turns out I have a rip roaring infection in both ears, and the clear fluid is actually pus leaking from my ear. Time for me to get my ears syringed and cleaned. Off to another room where a nurses aide is standing by the warm water and syringe, looking none too sure of herself at all. I'm feeling nervous and queasy. It wasn't too bad, though. I got both my ears cleaned and was put on two kinds of antibiotics for the whopping price of 85 RM (about $40). Work my way back to the lodge to pack up and....what's this?? A sunday market!!! Everything you could possibly imagine for sale is here. Everything. I was in heaven! Ended up only buying a few crafts and some really beautiful watercolours of Borneo. Don't know how I am going to get them home without them getting wrecked. I am hoping the post office tomorrow will be able to help send them. Anyways, I myst go now. my flight leaves in a few hours, and I have all of Thailand to adventure to!

Until then,
Cathy

Advertisement



5th November 2006

I knew it!!
When I talked to you on the phone and you said this junk was coming out of your ear I just knew it wasn't all salt water! I didn't want to worry you though so didn't say too much. I am glad you found your way to a klinik and saw a Dr and got those Abx! Hope it clears up soon - just in time for you to dive again in Thailand! Love Mom

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb