Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 24th 2014
Published: February 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I thought I had posted the following update a couple of weeks ago but have just realised it is still sat here. ooopps.



Penang has got to be one of the best places in the whole of Asia for food. There are large communities of Indians and Chinese along with the local Malays, mainly due to the days of British rule when they moved people about the various colony's to suit themselves. They all seem to get on well together and it makes for great food halls. While I was feeling a little bit adventurous I tried some clay pot frog with basil.....it was OK but a little froggy for me. So had a great week seeing the sights but mainly eating.

When I left for the airport my taxi driver on finding out I had time to kill took me on a tour of the island pointing out all the bits I'd missed. We had already agreed a price so there was nothing in it for him so thank you very much John my chinese taxi driver.

After Penang I stopped in on Bangkok again to meet up with a friend who was passing through on his way to Cambodia with a group of mates. At dinner one of his group (you know who you are) was trying to explain to the waiter that he was happy to have his curry spicy but didn't want it hot i.e no chillies. Somewhere along the line the explanation got a bit mistranslated and having cooked his curry the kitchen than sat it in a bowl of ice until it was stone cold!! Oh well you live and learn. I may well catch up with them again before they go home.

I moved across town for a few days and turned up at my new hotel to find reception full of people all trying to change rooms having stayed the night before. The receptionist was all looking a bit harassed so I waited a while then checked in. Found out what all the trouble was from a French woman while waiting for the lift. It turned out the hotel had caught fire the night before and had to be evacuated and all the people from that floor sent off to other hotels. Mind yot looking at some of the electrical wiring I'm not surprised.

Anyway off up North now for some peace and quiet and hopefully a hotel with decent electrics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb