Malaysia - penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 11th 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Malay boarderMalay boarderMalay boarder

Thank god they let me in!
I was a bit nervous when heading for the boarder into Malaysia because I had thrown my departure card away that they gave me at the airport which you need to exit Thialand, what a num nut!

It was all ok I put on some English charm and the officer was in a good mood that day so I got through without any problems. I wont be throwing bits of paper away again in a hurry!

When arriving at our hotel everyone was pretty beat so we just headed out for some local food, and of course tried the local Jazz beer which was not very nice really fizzy and had a horrible after taste.

In the morning we all went out for a chinese breakfast 'Yum Cha' it was really good apart from the chicken feet!

Headed out on a morning tour of the city, we visited the chinese stilt houses, they were facinating, the conditions these people live in is hard to grasp but they all seem happy enough, they dont know anything else I suppose. They had their own healing temple where people visited the magic man who would remove bad spirits from their
chinese breakiechinese breakiechinese breakie

chicken feet for breakfast, yum yum !
bodies, I was listening in on this one as there are a few people that I think could benefit, however I was not to keen when he got to the part when you had to drink his blood!

We then visited the 3rd biggest temple in Asia, was thinking it was quite pretty until Brit noticed the dead fish floating in the water fountian. When walking back down from the temple, and no I did not walk all the way to the top! sod that, we came across an underground market. In the centre were hundreds of water turtles, the local kids were feeding them veggies, they were fat turtles!

After visiting a fort built by the British that was never used because the idots built it in the wrong bloody place we went to the lying down temple. Wow. I found the year of the monkey Budda and made a wish. I will let you know if it comes true.

It was finally beach time, so excited as we hadnt been on the beach since Krabi. We decided to get on the bus with the locals which was funny, a fat Malay guy that took up
chinese stilt houseschinese stilt houseschinese stilt houses

these were cool still not sure if I would want to live there though.
3 seats sat behind us he was big! he was playing and singing to Micheal Jackson, we all couldnt help but join in. After meeting a few more interesting old boys that were keen to fill us in on much of the Malaysian culture we finally arrived at the beach! hurray!!!

Malaysia is not the place to be stripping off down to your bikkini but on this beach it was ok, anywhere else you have to cover your shoulders and knees, this is so hard to do in this heat and with my walldrobe.

We were meeting the two Fiona's at the beach, saw them about an hour later, they both had bleeding legs! They decided to do some Malay parasailing. You are supposed to run when the boat starts but unfortunatley they both stubbled over and got dragged along the beach, over some rocks and into the water before they took off. It was a shame they couldnt enjoy the view with blood pooring down their legs!

They are both nurses so after accessing the damage and thinking they were gonna be ok they were too busy laughing about it than to worry about there injuries. No wonder it only cost them a fiva!

Dan and Lauren were out on the jet ski's having fun, after about 20 minutes they pulled into shore and asked me if I wanted to go out with Dan for the last 10 minutes. I had never been on a jet ski before and if I was gonna have a go it was good to go with Dan because he has one of his own back home in Oz.

I had so much fun was a bit scary in some parts but overall I was glad I did it. We were being called to come back in, once closer enough to shore I hopped off, with a bang! Both Daniel and the Malay man looked at me and said ouch, but I styled it out, thought I had just brused my shin. That was until I got out the water and looked down, I am not joking I saw my bone, and Hayley Louise Norris I am not exagerating!

In minutes a few people had gathered around me, I got a little emotional because I so didnt want to visit a doctor or hospital out here, if they
Year of the monkeyYear of the monkeyYear of the monkey

My wish hasnt come true yet, I bet its because I didnt put my money in the box!
had one? The workers on the beach came over with a bottle of betadine which Dan pored on to it, I then was crying because this scare was going to be big! That was until the worker said to me thats not a scar this is a scar, I looked up and it looked like someone had sliced him down the middle and sowed him up with barb wire, I soon shut up. Dan and Brit went off to find a bandage (sorry Brit a bandade).

They got back ten minutes later, with thankfully some dressings. The first place they went to only had used ones, not so good! Brit was running around the street in her bikkini bottoms in the middle of prer time, this is not a good thing either! so funny looking back now, Thanks babes I appriciate you risking your life for me.x

After all the commotion we strapped my leg up, grabbed a beer and watched the sunset, wow! it was beautiful.

When we got back to the hotel and all wounds were treated, we headed to little India found a restarant and had a wicked curry! caught some rickshaws home, the
Turtles in underground marketTurtles in underground marketTurtles in underground market

They dont stop eating!
Melay people call them kings of the road because when they hit you they are so poor they cannot pay, police cant fine them because they cant pay but if you hit them you have to pay, how funny, if only it worked like that at home then I would claim poverty. Brit, Jason and I hoped in one,we had flashing lights and loud music on ours!

The next day we had a 6 hour bus ride to the big city of KL ( Kuala Lumpur) with 3 walking wounded, would have to be 3 Brits! I got my bag carried for me so that was a bonus as there was a 10minute walk from the bus station to Chinatown, thanks Jason your a gem!

I sedated myself on the bus so the 6 hours went really fast, good drugs out here, without prescription! We got to our hotel around noon, went for a walk round China town, time square, and popped in to use the internet at a local internet cafe. Do not use the toilets in these places, I was given a old rusty key having to go through 3 doors before I found the toilet!
Penang beachPenang beachPenang beach

Watching the sunset
it was like something out of train spotting so grose, worst yet!

We had a Nando's for dinner before heading to the Petronas Towers, they are amazing to look at, they do not look real somehow almost like a postcard they are beautiful.

Visited the backpackers Reggie bar for a beer but wasnt really feeling it, was limping around so I decided to opt for a early night.

Had a day on my own today trying to rest my leg, so I spent it on the internet updating my blog. My leg felt better by the evening so I went out for some good local food and found a place that sold cheap tiger beer. When I say cheap I mean London prices, alcohol in Malaysia is really expensive so you have to rashen yourself, sooo hard!

Had a pleasent time listening to some Malay buskers, they were pretty good, headed back to the hotel after for another early one, or so I thought?

Brit and I were in my room bored so we decided to go to the Fiona's, they always had a stash of vodka! just before we left my room, my Mummy
Penang beachPenang beachPenang beach

The last moments of sunshine.
called me, so good to here her voice made me smilexxxxxx

The Fiona's were not home so we headed back out to the Reggie Bar and there they were with Jamie and Alisa The vodka's flowed and before we knew it we were dancing. Met some cool people, well what I can remember! we were singing to TONIGHTS GONNA BE A GOOD NIGHT, and it shore was! we did the conga on the way home, who ever has these photos please keep them hidden!!!

Chicken nuggets for breakie after visiting the post office to send more stuff home I couldnt carry. On the road again 2.5 hours bus ride and then we were in Melaka.

So nice to get here very pretty town, didnt like KL to much, it was nice not seeing the locals begging on the street with limbs missing and if they had limbs they were all deformed so sad. There was a guy that had no legs that would drag himself up and down Chinatown everyday begging, heart breaking.

Once at our hotel we went to grab a sandwich, we were all pretty excited because we hadnt seen a sandwich for so
SunsetSunsetSunset

What a great spot to drink my beer
long. Unfortunatley I was feeling sick and had to go back to the hotel to vomit and for a sleep, dont take your Maleria tablets on a empty stomach, its not good!

Went bowling that night, felt a little better, they have cool bowling shoes. My score was not so cool!

The next morning we went to have a tradtional indian breakfast Rotis with bannanas, didnt really fancy them with curry for breakfast, many did and enjoyed it.

We decided to hop on some Rickshaws and visit some more temples, you do tend to get all templed out after so many. The local guide showed us some local grown herbs and then Brit and I decided to head to the local shops where we grabbed a smoothie, brain freeze! There was a guard with a massive machine gun, I am sure a smaller gun would of been more than adequate?

Later on we met up with the Fiona's and Jason and headed to the marina. We were going to hop on a boat down the river but in the end came across a spa and had a fish pedicure! I wish I had this on film,
Rickshaw ride from little IndiaRickshaw ride from little IndiaRickshaw ride from little India

Lauren's stacked it! so funny! I am still laughing x
it was so hard to put your feet in the water, after a few minutes of screams and laughter we did it. It was really weird watching fish nibbling at your feet, they seem to like mine lots of skin to chew on!

At dinner time we went to keyside Brit and I had soup, woops! lets just say the toilet was used alot that night!

Up at 6am as we had another days travelling heading to Singapore. Bus ride was ok of what I could remember, more wonder drugs for me and Brit! Singapore boarder was Ok arrived at our hotel around 1pm. We couldnt check in till 3pm so went for some lunch. Had a really nice dumpling soup, I was sure it was just bad luck with the last soap we had? Had a walk around, was suprised as I was always told Singapore was really clean no litter but it wasnt as clean as I imagined but I suppose it was clean compared to the rest of Asia.

Went back to the hotel to check in, it was nice to have a room to myself. When I got into the lift to head to my room I started to hear and feel my stomoach growl at me, why did I have the soup? I got out the lift and had no choice but to dump my bags and make a run for it. I couldnt find the light in the room so I had to find the bathroom in the dark bare in mind there are no windows it was very dark. Jo did say the soup detox's your body, if I wasnt in the hotel I would have done a Chalotte like on sex and the city, so bad!

After my ordeal, I still couldnt find the bloody light so I went back for my bags luckily they were still there and I headed back to reception. Somehow I managed to find myself in a service lift ending up outside at the back of the hotel. finally getting to reception, they told me there was a box on the wall where you slipped your key card into which turns the lights on. I then headed back to my room to then find I had locked my fucking key in the room excuse the french! I walked the hall ways and found
Petrona towersPetrona towersPetrona towers

Me and Brit, joined at the hip again!
a very nice laundary man that helped me out. What a drama, I then only had 10minutes to get ready and meet the others for our last dinner together as for most of the group thier trip ends here in Singapore.

We all were heading out to the Raffles hotel for a Singapore sling and I needed to borrow some shoes, luckily Shona had a pair I could wear, the dramas of not having my walldrobe! headed to the longbar where there were monkey nuts on the tables for guests to help themselves to, it was a nice touch. When walking to our table I heard crunching under my feet, all the monkey nut shells were thrown on the floor, they were everywhere! so wierd could not get used to chucking stuff on the floor, everyone was doing it. I enjoyed every sip of my Singapore sling, it was truly the best I had tasted, thanks Dad for the recommendation.

After we finished our cocktails we went to Boat Key for dinner, it was expensive but we had a lovely spot overlooking the river. It was a great ending to a great trip.

Tomorrow I head to
Malaysian pintMalaysian pintMalaysian pint

Was so not impressed! I think it was gone in about 3 mouthfulls and 7 pounds later!
Singpore airport to fly to Jekarta, those of you who are carrying on see you in Indonesia and to the rest thanks for a wicked time, it was great, stay in touch xxx














Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

bowling Malay stylebowling Malay style
bowling Malay style

Loving the shoes, and they didnt smell until I wore them he he !
Fish spaFish spa
Fish spa

crapping myself!
fish spafish spa
fish spa

Here goes
here fishy fishyhere fishy fishy
here fishy fishy

It's dinner time
Our rickshaw tourOur rickshaw tour
Our rickshaw tour

ahh how romantic
MelakaMelaka
Melaka

Afternoon stroll
Fish spaFish spa
Fish spa

got used to the sensation, I like!
Raffles hotel, SingaporeRaffles hotel, Singapore
Raffles hotel, Singapore

My very special Singapore sling
Raffles hotelRaffles hotel
Raffles hotel

sooo good!
enjoying our Raffles momentenjoying our Raffles moment
enjoying our Raffles moment

Thanks Mr Hot Pants!
early evening strollearly evening stroll
early evening stroll

Heading for our riverside supper, Singapore
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

Beers on the roof terrace


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb