Melaka (4-7 Jan 13)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
January 7th 2013
Published: January 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After three weeks resting back home, I'm finally back on the road again! This time I'm starting Southeast Asian Part Deux by heading up north by bus into Peninsular Malaysia. The plan is to keep heading north overland until I finally hit Bangkok again, where I intend to spend some time continuing my Thai lessons.

Anyway, first stop, Melaka! A pretty little Unesco World Heritage city in Southwest Peninsular Malaysia. I was almost ashamed when I told my friends I'd never been there before. It's one of those places that almost all Singaporeans go when they're young, to sample their famous Chicken Rice Balls, since it's just about a 3-4h ride away. Alas I never had the privilege of visiting this part of our northern neighbours when I was little, so this stop kinda fulfilled that lost part of my childhood!

And it was well worth it too! Melaka might very well be called the Museum Mecca of Malaysia. There must be over twenty in just the scenic historical part of town alone, enough to keep many an enthusiastic tourist occupied for at least several days. And the storied past of mixed colonial heritage (Portuguese, Dutch, British, Japanese) and
Dear Fellow Singaporean ReadersDear Fellow Singaporean ReadersDear Fellow Singaporean Readers

Eat your heart out! The real reason why I'm backpacking Malaysia, and why you should too!
rojak history is really reflected in the city's architecture, layout, cultural vibe and of course, food!

I'd had some worries about missing home after that short break, so I'm glad Melaka came up quickly, to remind me of why I'm doing what I'm doing. A great jumpstart to SEA Part II!

Stayed at Sama Sama Guesthouse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Melakan Chicken Rice BallsMelakan Chicken Rice Balls
Melakan Chicken Rice Balls

After hearing about these all my life, I finally got a chance to sample them. I don't mean to biased or anything, but I kinda (much) prefer the unballed version we have back home in Singapore. My sister was right, not fantastic.
Sungei MelakaSungei Melaka
Sungei Melaka

A (pretty) river runs through it...
Town SquareTown Square
Town Square

Rumour has it the British had the town painted red to match the mud that often washed up on the lower parts of the walls during the monsoon season, so they wouldn't have to do much cleaning!
St Paul's ChurchSt Paul's Church
St Paul's Church

Basically just ruins now.
Melakan History MuseumMelakan History Museum
Melakan History Museum

This was just one of the half dozen or so museums you get admission to for the RM10 ticket.
Admiral Cheng HoAdmiral Cheng Ho
Admiral Cheng Ho

They love him here! Monuments, museums, galleries, shops and restaurants named after the famed wandering Chinese eunuch explorer.
Boon Leong GymBoon Leong Gym
Boon Leong Gym

The aging lady behind the counter is a Gym Nazi! She yelled at me when I was running on the treadmill (!), because apparently they're all broken, so walking allowed only. Then she scowled that I didn't have a towel, and forced me to buy one from her for RM3.50. What a joint -- No A/C, rusty equipment and dumbbells, and pictures of bodybuilding contest winners plastered all round. My kind of gym! And scrutinizing some of those pictures carefully I noticed the Gym Nazi posing with several of winners. She must have been some kind of famous local trainer! It figures.
Porta de SantiagoPorta de Santiago
Porta de Santiago

And Melaka's ubiquitous multi-coloured, gangnam-style/ techno music-blaring trishaws.
Melakan CatwomanMelakan Catwoman
Melakan Catwoman

It seems every now and then I come across one. I still remember the one at Lopburi in Thailand (see blog entry). Notwithstanding her obvious popularity with the felines, this Indian woman might have had a few screws loose, and I observed her muttering to herself. When she saw me, she quite aggressively demanded "Tolong lah (please), money!" What can I say, I obliged. For the catfood after all. And I swear she even said "Thank you" too.
Cafe 1511Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511

Next to the Baba-Nyonya Peranakan Museum
Cheng Hoong Teng TempleCheng Hoong Teng Temple
Cheng Hoong Teng Temple

Apparently the oldest in Malaysia, dating back to 1645!
Masjid KlingMasjid Kling
Masjid Kling

Also very old, ca. 1748!
Melakan Museum of IslamMelakan Museum of Islam
Melakan Museum of Islam

Life-sized replica of the very first Koran ever written!


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb