Auckland --> Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So my last day in Auckland was pretty intense. I went on the canyoning trip that I wrote about the last time, up in the mountains about 40 mins outside of Auckland. We started by putting on wetsuits, helmets, and repelling harnesses, then hiked out to the start of the stream and worked our way down. By the end of the day, we had done jumps, slides, repelling, and some light rock climbing. And the water was freezing- about 45 degrees from what we could tell. I couldn't feel my feet after about 30 mins and at one point the fingernails on my left hand were blue; definitely very fun though. I repelled down two waterfalls, about 60 and 70 ft each, and did a bunch of jumps, from 6 feet up to about 20 or 25 feet. We got some great pictures from it, but I don't have them with me right now, hopefully I'll be able to upload them later.

So yesterday after a quick (10 hour) jump across Australia and Indonesia, I landed in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It looks to be a pretty cool place- exactly what you think of when you imagine other big cities in southeast Asia like Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta, etc. Really all I have to base this on is my lengthy cab ride from the train station to my hostel last night at about 9pm, so I'm looking forward to getting out and exploring the city today.

Luckily they have free internet here at the hostel, so I'll be able to write another post sometime tonight or tomorrow before I catch the train to Singapore to meet up with dad.

I hope everyone is doing well back home, and I look forward to hearing back from you all.

Advertisement



13th April 2008

sand/concrete/paint
Michael, Just to keep you up on the goings on at R.R. The sand that you and Brent spread worked GREAT - we got 6 1/2" of rain in one nite, the sand stayed where you put it, and now we have a BIG swimming pool alongside the house!! I'm going to Lowe's to pick up a couple of guys to break up the mismatched concrete back by the garage. And best of all, I went to Suda Salvage and picked up 14- 5 gal. and 20 - 1 gal. cans of paint for $150. Enough to do all of Mike's house and best of all, IT'S ALL new. Didn't want you to be out of the loop on Ripple Remodeling. Have all the fun you can every day and keep one eye on your father. Love, Gpa
14th April 2008

Take care of the old man when you meet up with him! Thinking of you both and hoping that you have a GREAT time together. Wish we could be there with you. I loved hearing about the repelling... but not about the blue fingers. Be careful mister. Love u.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 37; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb