COPE Laos @ Vientiane - Coping with Summer Heat (Part I)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
April 18th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 18th April 2012

Day 04 of my trip in Indochina.

The sweltering heat in the Laos capital was something quite unlike I had experienced back in Singapore. The weather was scorching hot right from the start of the morning. To a certain extent, the leafy boulevards in the city helped to provide a much needed relief from the sun. However, the heat in summer was simply too much for an average human being to bear.

For the most part of the day, I had my brolly put into good use. This was partly inspired by the tangerine-cladded monks along the streets doing the same.

After a healthy breakfast consisting of croissant, yogurt, banana shake with honey and plenty of fruits to kick-start my day, I began my morning walk from Hotel Khamvongsa, passing through numerous places of interest in central Vientiane.

The long walk brought me to the Presidential Palace, the famous Wat Sisaket Temple as well as the Talat Sao Market. 45 minutes after I began my pursuit, I arrived at my first stop of the day with plenty of sweat - COPE Laos.

COPE Laos is a non-profit organisation in Laos that aimed to spread awaress of the dangers of Unexploded Ordnance (UXO) dotting the country. More importantly, the center worked tirelessly in helping UXO victims move on with their lives in society through the various rehabilitation programmes.

By and large, the center wasn't big in scale but it was manned by a group welcoming staffs who were big at hearts. COPE was all about UXO. But it was also about how we could do our part as individuals. All in all, this was a rather infomative visit as English captions were found in almost all displays and videos. For sure, the air-conditioned premise was a welcome relief from the outdoor temperatures. Admission is free even though donations are always welcomed.

By lunchtime, I had finished my tour at COPE. With a nice glass of iced coffee and plenty of sunscreen, I continued with the rest of my journey along with my handy umbrella.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb