Dispatch: LAOS


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
August 25th 2005
Published: August 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post


It took me some time to update this blog as I’ve been busy moving from one place to another. I joined an Intrepid Travel group tour in Laos, and our group has been shuttling from one city to another for the past few days.

Our journey commenced August 16 in Chiang Mai and ended August 24 in Vientiane-Laos’ capital. All the while I spent most of my time packing and upacking, listening to my discman while sitting in cramped buses and vans, jalan jalan in Lao villages, snapping pics with my new digi cam, writing entries in my (paper) journal and bargaining at the night market in Luang Prabang.

But today is my first free day. And instead of joining my group mates (who left for Bangkok today), I decided to stay in Vientiane for a few more days. I skipped Bangkok - that city is so crazy and noisy that it will be difficult for me to think and write.

Vientiane, in contrast, is a quiet city-a perfect place to enjoy some caffeine, weave words and just sit still…

I’m no longer a journalist, but until now, I can’t stop reading, thinking, writing and telling stories. I guess ex-journalists, like old soldiers, never die. We just fade away… (or set up our own blogs, hehehe!)

So to my friends who are reading my blog: here’s my Laos story. I’ll be uploading some pics soon, so just keep checking this blog!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb