Tubing - best thing in Laos by far!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
January 24th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up pretty hungover but a strang fry-up later I was set for the tubing. Adam and I went with John from the bus and Andrea and Kristin we had met last night.

Basically tubing is floating down a river on a tractor tyre inner tube. There are about 6-7 bars along the way you stop at. We saw some people at the first bar who we had met last night. They said then they were gonna have a day off today to recover, but obviously tubing is just that good!

We had a wicked time stopping at each bar slowly getting pissed on whisky buckets, chatting to everyone and dancing. Everyone is so chilled out here and couldn't be friendlier. After a few buckets, I finally braved one of the many rope swings over the river and persuaded Kristin to jump off one with me. It wasn't the biggest one there but still a good 25-30 ft drop. Was awesome until my last jump when I landed on my back as I hit the water. That stung a bit, probably more if I was sober!

We eventually drifted to the last bar and warmed up by the fire. Everyone was there who we met along the way. Here I ended up pulling a swedish girl but then lost her. Gutted! I later found out she ended up floating in the river downstream somewhere! Oh well!

Got a tuk-tuk back to town and passed out in the hotel at 8pm

Advertisement



7th February 2009

Ouch!
What a way to travel! I wonder who came up with the idea or using a tractor tyre in a river?! Shame about the swede that got away!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb