A Good De-Laosing


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 6th 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I wrote a Blog entry last weekend, but my computer seemed to think it was rubbish and deleted it. Here then are the 'highlights' along with a picture story. After Vang Vieng I headed north to Luang Prabang.


- The bus journey from Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang through the mountains was slow but quite fun. I've always enjoyed being thrown around in the bus as it goes around the hair pins, but I'm not sure the stern-faced German guy sitting next to me enjoyed the forced intimacy.

- Another attack from my ginger stomach which put me out of action for 3 days. Was hoping to head north from Luang Prabang, but didn't want to risk it.

- Hiring a boat on the Mekong for sunset and then getting invited for dinner by the boatman. Comfortably the best food I ate all holiday. Embarassingly, I found myself moving along to a dance version of 'Careless Whisper'.

- Laos Cooking class. Never eaten so much food in one day before.

- More small world moments. Found out Rach and Fraser, some university friends, were also in Luang Prabang.

- Discovering that Chinese might well be the new international language. Wherever you go, you can always find a chinese person. Any time I had a problem, it was much easier solving it with a chinese person than struggling in english with a Laos person.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Luang Prabang AirportLuang Prabang Airport
Luang Prabang Airport

Not sure why, but this photo amused me. Though I certainly didn't feel amused when the tiny airplane started rattling on take off.
Laos FoodLaos Food
Laos Food

Doesn't look much, but was the best food I tasted.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb