Luang Nam Tha (18-21 Sep 13)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North » Luang Namtha
September 24th 2013
Published: September 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Road to Muang SingRoad to Muang SingRoad to Muang Sing

Possibly the most memorable 60km scooter journey ever.
I had almost forgotten how serenely calm the Laotian highlands were, but it didn't take long for my memory to be stirred again. A 4h winding bus ride took me from the riverside border town of Huai Xai to Luang Nam Tha, often deemed to be Laotian trekking HQ. Being the closest major town to the border crossing with China, this would be my second and last stop in the country this time. It also happened to be pretty much the single remaining major place mentioned in my LP for Laos that I'd missed out on my trip here last year, so it was with some satisfaction that I managed to make it there. Goes to show all you need is some determination, and a little planning...I wasn't exactly in Luang Nam Tha for the trekking though. My previous experiences in the uniformed services had already provided sufficient opportunities for wandering in steamy jungles. But motorcycling the surrounding environs was more than pleasant, and I couldn't help but recall in particular the fond memories I had of my brief stay in Vieng Xai last year, at the other border crossing in the north with Vietnam. The cool weather and winding roads through ethnic villages sprinkled along the hillsides were a treat, accompanied by some spectacular views of vast, sunshine-bronzed, stepped padi fields and the obligatory doe-eyed buffaloes. Scootering the 60 km (2h each way) through the northern Laotian highlands to nearby Muang Sing, a real frontier town literally minutes from China, is probably something I'll really remember for some time to come. This was already my third trip to the country, and although it was just a brief stay in transit this time, I still depart with some sense of poignance, especially when reflecting over my past experiences in the country in totality. The brutal irony of a present-day peaceful country with a violent recent past. When will I be back again?Stayed at Dokchampa Hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Luang Nam ThaLuang Nam Tha
Luang Nam Tha

(Almost) A one street town.
Pepsi's in Laos!Pepsi's in Laos!
Pepsi's in Laos!

No Thai imports required here.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb