6 Month Blog: A New Year


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North » Luang Namtha
January 4th 2013
Published: January 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

That's right. It's been six months. We have been travelling for over half a year. Say whaaaaaat?

What an adventure it has been and now it's a completely new year – 2013. That number doesn't seem real, isn't 2013 supposed to be, like, the future? Where is my flying electric car? What a rip-off...

Well now that that minor anxiety attack is complete let's discuss the last month of insanity before I tell you all about my plans for 2013.

This last month was FULL of new people, new travel buddies and new friendships. I had a chance to get to know Ty's friend Jaf a lot better (he's a total sweetie pie), I got to travel with one of my best friends Paul and I got to meet so many other cool people. Dan and Avi from Minnesota were a riot. Jahan, Matt and Sec were true maple-syrup-loving canucks. I truly hope that we see them again one day. The only bad thing about travelling with them is that they always made me drink too much... okay so that's sort of true and sort of a lie. When travelling with a group there is always someone who is going to instigate a night of whiskey and/or beers. It has been a completely different travel experience. When it was just Ty and I we were extremely low key; read our blogs, we maybe had a drinking night once every two weeks. The worst part is, once we got drinking we were the ones like “Yeah! On to the next bar!”. By the time we parted ways with the guys from the States they were probably like those Canadians are CRAZY partiers. And we are... don't tempt us!

Other than the partying we got to see and do a lot of really cool stuff. Angkor Wat?? Hello ancient beauty! Tiger Temple? We hung out with Tigers on Christmas Day, no big deal! This trip has filled my memory with a lifetime of wonderful moments and we aren't even done. We have two more months to go. Two more months of just us. Two more months until real life kicks in. Two more months until we *gulp* need to get jobs. Two more months until I get to squeeze my kitties. Two more months of foreign culture, jungles, temples, beaches, sunshine, starry nights, getting eaten alive by mosquitoes, working on our tans, writing travel blogs for you fine people, testing just how cheap we can be to make our money go as far as possible... I really don't know how life can get better. There is not really a best slash worst comparison here. Everything is just best. This is the best time of my life. I get to travel with my best friend.

When Tyler and I talk about what we've accomplished or where we want to go/what we want to do in the next 1/5/25 years there is always a point where we both become speechless from the endless opportunities and look at each other and say “lucky us”. We are so lucky. We are so blessed.

And now it's 2013?! Yes, I am still trying to adapt. I'm always that person that will write the wrong date for about 3 months before getting it right. But maybe this trip has taught me to adapt quickly. Packing our bags – on average – every three days and finding a new “home” in every new town/city/village must have impacted me in some way. That brings me back to the idea of coming home. Mostly I'm excited. We will have been on the road for a very long time, the longest I'll have ever been away from home; so it excites me to think that I will actually get to see my loved ones in person. Hug them. Squeeze them. Feel their warmth. That is going to be a big moment for me. This trip isn't just about being away, it's also about coming home and it's the perfect maraschino cherry to put on my huge banana split with strawberry, chocolate AND vanilla ice cream. I'm living life in a big way but without having that anchor back at home I don't think this would be such a meaningful experience. We meet people that say “I came to Thailand for a 7 month trip 6 years ago.” And I'm like “What about your family dude?!”. It's not my place to get into it, but maybe they don't have as much as Tyler and I do. Maybe we really are the lucky ones to be able to carve our own trail but also have such deep roots that we will always return home.

I don't even know if I really discussed what this last month has been like all that much, but it was just as exhilarating as the previous months were only in a totally different way. That's what it's like over here. Every day is new. Every day is amazing and difficult at the same time. Every day is an adventure.



So what resolutions does Rebecca Madinger want to make for 2013? How can 2013 possibly be better than 2012. Now, let's got back to the first 6 months of 2012 for a moment. Tyler and Rebecca working their butts off to save every penny, see as many people as possible and plan a crazy trip. 2012 was nuts! I guess I'm hoping that 2013 is simpler. Simpler is better. We will explore Laos, return to Cambodia then find our way back to the real world. While some people aren't so fond of resolutions because the likelihood of not following through is quite high, I want to share a few things that I will be working on for personal growth in 2013.



My Three Growth Strategies (aka Resolutions)



I have been focusing a lot lately about being present. While walking through life I don't want to think so much about the past or the future but pay more attention to what is going on NOW. Thinking of coming home makes me fairly nervous. I know how much I used to rush around to avoid being late and letting anyone down; so I would like to carry my presence home and not get as anxious about pleasing others. I guess that means that my first goal is to be present.

Yoga, Yoga, Yoga. I want to focus more on my practise. I want to meditate. I want to unwind before and/or after a busy work day and remember to always breathe. Yoga will absolutely be a big part of my life in 2013.

Now I need something a bit challenging. Doing yoga and being present are basic; maybe that's why I chose them. Life in 2013 should be simpler. I don't want to sweat the small stuff. I want to carry my patience home with me that I found on the other side of the world. So what is simple and challenging? Acceptance. I want to accept myself; all of my weaknesses as well as my more positive traits. I should also accept that I can't do everything. As much as I think I'm some sort of Superwoman/Bat Woman character I really am just human. Accepting the difference between want and need should be easier after seeing how people in Asia live. What about accepting my fate? Where will life take me? What does the universe want? Go with the flow. Accept life's curve balls. Smile – not through my teeth but – through my soul.


Wow! That was a great moment. This is going to be great. Bring on 2013 because I'm ready to take on the world whether it's from the Mekong Delta or a desk chair in London, Ontario.

Who wants to be brave and share their “resolutions” with me? Write them down – post them on the internet even – and you are making a real commitment to them and yourself. Who is ready for a challenge? Let's have a great 2013 together being happy and being healthy from the inside out.

Xoxo Princess Sparkle (family nickname I wanted to share because I feel all shiny right now)

Welcome to 2013 and a whole new year of opportunities!!

Advertisement



4th January 2013

Resolutions!
Hello Flower, My New Year's Resolution is to be like Rebecca Madinger minus the Yoga LOL!! Love you Deb
7th January 2013

sweet Rebecca
Your resolutions are much like mine this year. Living life simply, understanding the differences between my WANTS and my NEEDS..and mostly realising that no amount of money determines how rich I really am, the amazing family I have, the beautiful friends I am surrounded by and the genuine love and hope that lives in my heart. I am so proud of you. Lots of love, Tara Olivia

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb