Ala Archa National Park


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan
July 2nd 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday Nazgul, myself and Azamat, Nazgul's brother-in-law's brother, spent the afternoon walking around Ala Archa National Park. It's lovely, not that far from Bishkek, and a favourite place for tourists (saw lots of climbers and other foreigners) and Kyrgyz and Russian families wanting to escape the heat. It was absolutely gorgeous, and if all of my weekends let me go to places like this, I will pretty much only live for weekends. So here are some of the pics 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



2nd July 2007

More interesting bridge
Hi Christina, Did I see correctly that the "more interesting bridge" has no wooden planks in it? Is this to keep the horses from crossing it or just because of disrepair? How high is the bridge above the white water? Chuck
4th July 2007

thought you'd like that pic...
Yes, there are no wooden planks. I'm not completely sure why. It might be to keep the horses back or just because why waste wood or metal when it's easy to climb... no wheel-chair access though... And it's about a meter above the whitewater (I think)...
10th July 2007

Nice Park
I just caught up on your travel blog, yes, I am a procrastinator. Thanks for taking pics of the park. The scenery is interesting, especially the whitewater and the plankless bridge. So someone could just fall right into the water? Or do you walk sideways, straddling the slanted beams? Btw, I am subscribed now, so keep the blog posts going!
10th July 2007

Yeah, I guess you could fall right in the water. You sort of climb over all the different sticks of metal, which are sometimes a little loose and wobbly. And they sometimes make this horrific metal on metal noise that makes you think the whole bridge is about ready to collapse... It was lots of fun :)

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb