Going Nomad on the Kyrgyz Jailoo


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Kochkor
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Kymys. Fermented mare's milk. I'd been looking forward to trying it ever since I decided to come to Central Asia, but I guess I'd always had in mind just a small sip, rather than the overflowing bowl Aitbek had just thrust into my hands. I gazed into it uncertainly for a moment, fairly dubious about the tiny pieces of straw and strands of hair bobbing at the surface. But Aitbek just nodded encouragingly, before tipping his own bowl back and slurping it all down in several throaty gulps. Smacking his lips appreciatively, he motioned for me to do the same. And it was good, surprisingly so! Imagine skim milk that's gone sour, mixed with half-flat lemonade, and you'll have some idea of the refreshing, slightly tangy, vaguely alcoholic taste of good kymys. Sensing my pleasant surprise, as I tipped the rest of my bowl down my throat, Aitbek grinned proudly and slapped me on the back. Another convert to the joys of kymys. =P

Kochkor
I'd first met Aitbek and his young family in a shared taxi to Kochkor; a short journey in which we'd quickly exhausted the dozen or so words we knew of each other's language, but continued trying to communicate anyway, with lots of miming & smiles. In between these exchanges, I'd been looking through the guide-book at accommodation options, and had pretty much resigned myself to hunting down another cheap, dingy Soviet-era hotel once we arrived. (Check out the video I've attached here of an especially bad bathroom at one such hotel. In case the sound's not good, the basic story is this: seeing as the lone shared toilet was filled almost to its seat-less brim with a thick, stinking brown sludge - so thick I honestly doubt a dropped pebble would have sunk through the surface - I'd asked the cleaner if there was another toilet I could use. She'd responded by grabbing a handy straw broom, thrusting it deep into the muck and thrashing around until the level sunk a couple of inches, with a glutinous sucking sounds and a few noxious, oily bubbles. Then she turned to me with a smile and an inviting wave - the toilet was ready for use! =P) Anyway, I'd come down with a bit of a cold after my time up in the mountains, was feeling pretty lousy, and the prospect of another grimy, soulless hotel like this was slightly depressing. So when Aitbek suddenly asked, on our arrival in Kochkor, if I'd like to spend the night at his family's home, I told him I'd love to. =)

And it ended up being a very enjoyable & refreshing afternoon & evening: looking through picture-books with Bermek (Aitbek's two-year-old daughter; her name means 'pearl') while her parents unpacked, exploring the small town centre with Aitbek (where I sampled my first kymys), enjoying a generous afternoon tea & evening meal (at their typical Kyrgyz table; roughly a foot off the ground, you all sit cross-legged around it on thick shyrdaks (traditional felt rugs)), admiring photo albums of their wedding & various family events, knocking back a couple of shots of Aitbek's prized bottle of Kyrgyz cognac, and then falling gratefully asleep in the comfortable & very warm bed they'd set up for me.

Aitbek was up even earlier than me the next morning, preparing a small breakfast which we shared at the kitchen table, whispering so as not to wake the others. When we walked back into town soon after, he steadfastly refused to accept anything at all for looking after me so well, just repeating the Russian word for 'guest', patting me gently on the back and smiling broadly. A very beautiful family, incredibly hospitable! After a very heartfelt thank you, I headed straight to the CBT office, (Kyrgyzstan's excellent Community Based Tourism initiative), through which I'd arranged a day out in the nearby jailoo (summer pasture) of Sarala-Saz, and a night spent in a yurt, (nomad's tent), something I'd been looking forward to for a long time!

Sarala-Saz Yurt Camp
I arrived at Sarala-Saz to find a large group setting up a new yurt - a rare chance to see how it all fits together! Basically, a collapsible wooden frame (kerege) is erected in a cylindrical shape, and then long, curved wooden struts are fitted into a wooden wheel held above the middle of the cylinder, whilst their other ends are tied securely to the collapsible frame, (check out the photos if that sentence is as confusing to you as it sounds to me...). This whole structure is then wrapped in woven grass mats, (very effective at blocking the wind), followed by multi-layered felt (kiyiz), the outermost layer of which is coated in waterproofing sheep's fat - to keep out the cold & rain. When the assembled crowd - about a dozen men & women, working very fast together - saw how interested I was, they welcomed me to join in, showing me how to poke the support struts up into the central wheel, (the tyndyk), and then tie them tightly in place. Very interesting, and a lot of fun; I just hope that that yurt doesn't fall down in the first big storm as a result of my contribution... =P

I'd just started learning the next step in the process when I heard yells of "Michael Jackson?!" coming from behind the older yurt. (This was something I got a lot in Central Asia, pretty much every time I introduced myself. I did my best to laugh along each time, as if it was the very first time I'd heard this hilariously witty rejoinder...) Around the other side of the yurt, I found Nussultan (one of the yurt family's sons) waiting for me, a cheeky grin on his face, along with two saddled horses. Swinging up onto mine - a beautiful bay with the Zorroesque name of Sartoro - I followed Nussultan away from the yurts and up onto the wide, rolling, and very quiet jailoo. Watchful eagles soared high above us as we trotted along, occasionally swooping precipitously down for a closer look, scaring the horses each time their stealthy shadows rippled over the short grass around us.

It began to snow as we neared the mountains, and we were forced to stop at one point, huddling beneath the unperturbed horses until the sun came out again. Soon after this, the trail grew too steep for the horses and we continued on foot, scrambling around the rocks in search of the petroglyphs I'd come to see. Petroglyphs are simple images carved into stone faces, usually associated with prehistoric peoples. Nussultan showed me a great number of them; most depicting long-horned sheep, but also some people, wolves, deer and even a very out-of-place looking "chimpanzee" (?!).

On the ride back, the weather worsened when we were still a few hours out - a deviously cold wind that somehow managed to sneak snow down the backs of necks and into our squinting eyes - and it was a huge relief to finally reach the warm sanctuary of the yurt! Plonking down on a little wooden stool in front of the yurt's glowing stove - fed entirely by dried manure; surprisingly fragrant - cupping a hot chai between numb hands, chewing on fresh bread covered in amazing homemade apricot jam & thick cream, watching the icy rain pelt furiously but impotently down outside... Bliss. =)

Roughly three-quarters of a yurt's floor is covered in thick, yak-hair carpets, (the rest is stamped bare earth by the door, for bringing things in & out without having to remove your shoes), and after dinner the low table was moved aside so that our beds could be set up on these carpets. The daughter of the family piled up blanket after blanket until each bed was roughly a foot off the ground, completely insulated from the cold, and then a final enveloping duvet was placed on top of that. It looked incredibly inviting after a long, cold day, but I stayed up a while longer - sitting by the steaming stove, occasionally stepping outside to look out over the dark jailoo and up at the stars - just trying to soak it all in.

En Route to the Uzbek Border
I'd have loved to stay there longer, adjusting to the hard-working but simple routine of life on the jailoo, but the time I'd set aside for Uzbekistan was fast approaching and I decided I'd have to get moving. Returning to Kochkor early the next morning, (after the best night's sleep I'd had in months), I said my final goodbyes to Aitbek and then hitched a ride back to Bishkek, checking into a hotel so cheap that the sign on the door - advertising its major selling-point - read "Bathroom works". Just barely... =P Interestingly, many of these places - including this one - provide only shared bathrooms, with squat toilets open to the rest of the room, (no stalls or doors). This means that people often walk right past, as you squat there taking care of business, looking in curiously and occasionally stopping to ask where you're from. Needless to say, it's a fairly strange position from which to try and conduct a congenial conversation...

Escaping early the next morning - having first made a leisurely visit to the bathroom to use the toilet and have a chat (as you do =P) - I caught a shared taxi down to Jalal-Abad, (in the south-west, on the Uzbek border). This involved a very tight squeeze into the back-seat with two enormous women and their long-suffering niece; all of whom seemed to take it in turns to throw up all over each other's shoes throughout the thirteen-hour trip that followed. I didn't really mind though, hanging my head out the window when the smell got a bit much, and thinking back over what had been an excellent start to the trip - violent shepherds & stalwart miners, unforgettable hiking, horny housewives, hospitality in its very purest form, lots of new friends & memorable characters, horse-riding out on the open jailoo & sleeping in a yurt, tangy kymys, sizzling shashlyk & irresistible laghman... How could Uzbekistan possibly top all that?!...


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

Taken roughly 20 minutes after the first photoTaken roughly 20 minutes after the first photo
Taken roughly 20 minutes after the first photo

They work fast, apparently putting up a whole new yurt in under three hours!
PetroglyphsPetroglyphs
Petroglyphs

Apparently that's a wolf in the lower right, and a chimpanzee (?!) to its left.


1st August 2008

Oh cool! Kochkor is exactly where I am going in September. I am going to read this blog tomorrow. :) I just want to ask you a couple of questions if you dont mind. Can I take a mini van or shared taxi from Osh Bazzar in Bishkek to Kochkor or is should I try to catch one at the bus station instead? How much is a reasonable price to pay for this? When you were in Kyrgyzstan was it easy to change all major currencies to the local currency? Mel
1st August 2008

Shame about the loo!
Hey Michael, your night out on the jailoo sounds amazing as does delicious kymys. Keep up the excellent blogs. Dan
1st August 2008

Simply Hilarious !!!
Can't stop laughing.....
1st August 2008

Lovely
What a great experience!!!!!!!! Lovely pictures. Congratulations for your blog. Love from Argentina.
2nd August 2008

Awesome!
Loved every word and photo!
2nd August 2008

Hey Michael, I would have loved to have gone horse riding with you up into the mountains! Have you seen my latest Facebook picture? Yurt building looked challenging as well as a lot of fun and you were right, that toilet certainly looked disgusting!
4th August 2008

lookin fine
hi michael, looks like you are havinga great time in central asia. stop by korea on your way home if you can - come say hello. stay in touch man - pom! http://daveshawblog.wordpress.com/
4th August 2008

Absolutely fabulous!
This is getting better and better. Loved the narration and photos!
5th August 2008

Re: Mell
hey again mel, no worries at all, am happy to help out if i can! for getting to kochkor from bishkek, i'm pretty sure that the west (zapadny) bus station is your best option. from what i can tell, there are some buses (although the bus system seems pretty unreliable, to say the least) but i'd opt for one of the frequent minibuses that leave as soon as they're full. shared taxis are another good option, as you supposed. hope that helps! and i'll be looking forward to reading your own kyrgyz blogs - let me know when they start appearing! =)
6th August 2008

Amazing stories
Hi Michael! Been following your stories for a while, first time commenting, though.^^ It's impressive to see a young man so wise and adventurous traveling around the world, continue to keep your eyes clear, your ears open, and let life lead your way!^^ Thanks for sharing!!^^ Sandra
7th August 2008

Thanks Michael :) Less than a month before I go. :) I am going for 9 days and wishing it is 30.
8th August 2008

Re: Sandra
thanks for taking the time to make such a kind comment sandra, although i'm not sure i can lay much claim to being either wise or adventurous!
8th August 2008

Re: Shao
cheers shao! just checked out your page, and will be looking forward to hearing about the volunteer project in cambodia!
10th August 2008

i would have stayed at saralaz-saz forever ..
i keep on hearing about central asia just about every day : swiss biodiversity preservation program for turkmenistan forest, yurt life-style in siberia, Uzbek judoka .. and every times it reminds me about how amazing your trip must have been .. so jealouslaa !! hope the comeback to spore aseptic life is not too brutal !! by the way, where's the mullet ? ;) keep the blogs coming !!
15th August 2008

nice blog again
Hey Michael, great you have started to write travel blog again, i have been waiting for quite a time to read your blog again. I like the way you describe your encounter all along the travel. Beautiful words;-) Nice photos. it would be great if i have the chance to meet you to share the experience of travelling. If you come to Malaysia or Singapore, feel free to shoot me an mail...looking forward to your next blog @@
16th September 2008

Hey there - Awesome journey by the sounds of things. Laughed out loud at your loo video! It's certainly up there with the worst I've seen in my travels! Considering an overland journey back to India from Europe (where I am now) for next visit - so will continue to tune in with interest. Happy travels, Ellen
27th April 2009

Toilet
That is one bad toilet!LOLS!Beautiful writing and beautiful photos ...
13th August 2011
Particularly bad hotel bathroom

probably it's in Russia

Tot: 0.584s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 30; qc: 169; dbt: 0.413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb