Kyrgyz, Ketig! (let's go!)


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Bishkek
June 22nd 2009
Published: June 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bishkek, KRBishkek, KRBishkek, KR

A symbolic yurt in the Faeva Shopping Mall in downtown Bishkek.

Off to Bishkek via Newark, NJ, Franfurt, Germany, and Almaty, Kazhakstan



I am off on a two month-long adventure today that will take me to Central Asia and to parts of Kyrgyzstan That I did not see on my previous travels to this interesting small alpine nation. The flights take a number of hours. I leave Houston, TX, at 1 pm flying on Continental Airlines to Newark. From there I have about an hour and a half and a change of aircraft to Luthansa for an overnight flight to Frankfurt. Four hours later, I board a final aircraft for Almaty, KZ, and fly about 7 hours. Scheduled to arrive in Almaty at about 1 am on June 24th. That will be followed by a 2 hour car ride through the mountains and steppes south to Bishkek.

Plans have been made for me to go to Lake Issy-Kul, Naryn, Osh, Kazulkya, Talas, and other locations. I am also hoping I will be able to visit Sary-Chelek. I will be based in the Kyrgyz capital of Bishkek until August 25, 2009.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Lake Sary-ChelekLake Sary-Chelek
Lake Sary-Chelek

One of the places I hope to visit on this trip to Kyrggyzstan
TransportationTransportation
Transportation

On my last visit in January, the country was covered in snow. The sled and donkey may have been the most dependable transportation.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb