Texas in my heart, Bishkek in my future


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Bishkek
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A Writer's BurialA Writer's BurialA Writer's Burial

Chingiz Aitmatov, Kyrgystan's greatest modern author's burial had taken place after a funeral that drew thousands to Bishkek's main square.
Preparing For Kyrgys Republic Trip

I am preparing to travel to Bishkek, Kyrgystan, in about two weeks. I have traveled to Kyrgystan last summer and got to see a number of places. This trip will be a longer stay that will allow me to explore other areas and to learn more about this "Switzerland" or "Colorado" of Central Asia. I decided to blog on Travel blog about the trip to this small former Soviet Republic, because there a number of people who have had unpleasant experiences who have reported them here recently. My experiences have been different. My travels have been quite pleasant and enjoyable.

So, just a couple of preparatory comments seem in order. I have met and developed friendships with a number of young Kyrgys friends in Houston and also in Bishkek. Those relationships have certainly made my travels there different than those who might be backpacking or trecking solo, or staying in hostel-like, or village home-stays. But what I discovered was that traveling in this country was much like my adventures at a younger age in Europe, Greece, Turkey, The Middle East, North Africa and other areas. What was required of me was an open heart,
Main Mosque-BishkekMain Mosque-BishkekMain Mosque-Bishkek

The central mosque. It is important to remember that Kyrgystan is a country deeply influenced by Islam. In 1991 there were only 4 active mosques in the country. Today there are nearly a thousand.
an attempt to learn the language, and a certain amount of trust in the basic goodness of people. I have traveled widely since I was 18 years old and these travel tools have served me well throughout the last 48 years.

I enjoyed last summer's visit so much that I returned in the dead of winter to join in the celebration of the New Year and welcomed in the year of the Ox with my friends.

I stayed on each trip in the lap of the incredible hospitality of my friend's family and his grandfather and grandmother in their village to the south of Osh. And that, of course, means that someone who could translate and accompany me was usually available. My hosts were very careful to remind me not to carry my passport, only a copy of my visa and the photo page. To only carry Coms, the local currency, no large amounts of cash were ever needed. They also made sure that I understood the risks of wandering off to a bazaar by myself. But with all of that taken into account, what one must remember is that this is not Europe, or even the Middle East. The circumstances are different. One needs to remember that this is a country with an Islamic history even though it is now a secular democracy.

But extending a Salam, along with an awareness of local traditions, learning to say Men Atim (My name is) Calvin, Sen Atim jatasyn,(What is your name?) and other phrases can take you a long way.

I have included some photos from both previous trips.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

A Late Night SnackA Late Night Snack
A Late Night Snack

We arrived at a friend's house in Karakul after an 8 hour drive late at night. The hospitality shown was remarkable.
Special DrinksSpecial Drinks
Special Drinks

A couple of interesting drinks available on the street.
Swimming at Lake Issy-KulSwimming at Lake Issy-Kul
Swimming at Lake Issy-Kul

The world's second largest alpine lake.
Al-Archa State ReserveAl-Archa State Reserve
Al-Archa State Reserve

About twenty minutes away from Bishkek, an alpine park full of fir and conifers and beautiful views,
Dancing in KyrgystanDancing in Kyrgystan
Dancing in Kyrgystan

I accepted an invitation to dance from a group in the park.
Burana TowerBurana Tower
Burana Tower

An archeological site near Tokmok, that dates from at least the 9th Century. See Wikipedia.
Where Lenin Once StoodWhere Lenin Once Stood
Where Lenin Once Stood

The main square in Bishkek
The White HouseThe White House
The White House

Kyrgys Republic President and Parliment are housed here.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb