You Say You Know


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TakoTakoTako

Be careful the company you keep.
Konbanwa. I was going to write a little piece about my life in Japan on the night before I returned to America having completed my second year living here and how I have mastered it. I was going to go out have a couple of Sapporo beers, go walking among the neon lights, and soak in the sparkling atmosphere. But life doesn’t conform to nice little packages. I went to have some dinner and ran into a few guys who I sometimes drink with, rarely if I can help it.

Now this does not seem like such a big deal, right? But these guys are so morally corrupt that even just talking with them and being with them feels like guilt by association. Its like some of their sleazy vibes begin to seep into you. Anyway, it reminded me that you have to be careful of the company you keep. Especially in Japan the land where anything goes and morals seem to be non-existent. I want to be a good guy, and in my two years here I am gradually learning how to walk that tight rope. But tonight reminded me that I have to be constantly vigilant.

Anyway,
SusukinoSusukinoSusukino

The neon signs are sparkling. It was another golden year.
I have had a great time in Japan for yet another year. The place I work feels like a family. My Japanese is improving. I have many friends I can contact to hang out with. I had a cute Japanese girlfriend for the long Hokkaido winter. We broke up with the coming of spring. I had a couple nice, but completely different, trips to Kyoto. When I left to teach internationally my plan was 5 years in Asia and then 5 years in South America. But to be honest I don’t know what will happen. I could end up living here one more year or twenty five more years. I guess it all depends if I meet someone. Otherwise I will sort of drift through this life doing whatever it is I think I want at the moment.

Japan is a nice enough place to “figure it out”. A long time Japan resident said living here was like living in Kindergarten. For example my friend and I we were wandering through Odori Park on Saturday. It was packed with people, but it was SO quiet and we felt completely safe. Gaijin feel invincible here. Like nobody really cares what we do, because it feels like they don’t expect that much of us.

Also I learned a thing or two about Japanese girls this year. For one thing they are really busy. Some of them work six days a week! I am glad I am not working for a Japanese company. Also I learned that the Japanese girls who have learned English and have lived abroad are frequently a bit off. Like they didn’t fit in their own society so they tried the gaijin society, but they didn’t quite make it because deep down they will always be Japanese. This frequently, but not always, leads to a volatile mix. The real Japanese girl is more normal and well adjusted. But she comes from a completely alien culture. One which is fearful of foreigners and is hard to break into. So where does this leave me? Well, living in Japan for at least another year and still trying to figure it all out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 36; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb