山口 & 時代祭り


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yamaguchi-cho DanjiriYamaguchi-cho DanjiriYamaguchi-cho Danjiri

I'm always trying to paint a picture of youth culture in different countries. I think this photo sums it up nicely for me.
So basically autumn has finally hit Japan. Mother natures counterpart in Asia was nice enough to have us go from 80 degree sunlight into days where the sun goes down at 5:15PM and the average daily high is 65 degrees. Most people have caught the oh so usual in-between type sicknesses, which I usually catch too, but I’ve been lucky enough to remain genki.

Soon the Momiji leaves, which are incredibly popular in Japan, will burst into the vivid colors that make autumn my favorite season. I think Japan’s autumn is even more appealing to me then autumn in America, because the temperature remains pleasant much longer so in a way autumn is extended and winter is cut down a little.

I have no idea really why I’m writing this other than the fact that I wish I could educate people more on travel outside of the US. Too often Americans are way behind on linguistic skills and far too often have a narrow view on the world. One day the population will realize that the world does not revolve around us, but unfortunately only something catastrophic will make them realize this. It sucks, but I think it’s true.
Ryoji & KentaRyoji & KentaRyoji & Kenta

Younger and Older brother helping the cause of pushing the town Danjiri which dates back to the Meiji Period.
Find what’s important to you in life and go after it with everything you got. Don’t settle for chasing number two. "Never save something for a special occasion. Every day in your life is a special occasion". Train everyday. Keep it classy everyone! 😊😊
- Zach


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

NeighborhoodsNeighborhoods
Neighborhoods

Typical views for a typical Japanese town.
Torii GateTorii Gate
Torii Gate

Arrival of the Danjiri to the local temple.
TempleTemple
Temple

Each town present for the festival pull their Danjiri uphill arriving at the temple, where they then go inside and say prayers.
Heian-Jingu Torii GateHeian-Jingu Torii Gate
Heian-Jingu Torii Gate

Located within the center of Kyoto. This is where we watched the Jidai Matsuri.
Levi & TsukasaLevi & Tsukasa
Levi & Tsukasa

Chatting about something that only Levi talks about i'm sure...Don't you think Tsu is just so cute?
Haruna & IHaruna & I
Haruna & I

You can't tell, but were actually soooo cold in this photo.
Jidai MatsuriJidai Matsuri
Jidai Matsuri

I forget which period these boys are representing, but they did an excellent job of playing.
Heian Period BannerHeian Period Banner
Heian Period Banner

Sorry, I can't offer any translation yet...
SamuraiSamurai
Samurai

Preparing for a call to battle.
IUP ReunionIUP Reunion
IUP Reunion

During my sophomore year at IUP I met many exchange students from Japan. Now living in Japan I had a chance to meet back up with many of those same students.


30th October 2005

WOW I am taken a back by all this. I will write you later on your e-mail. Love aunt nicole

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb