The Forgotten Robot Soldier


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last monday I went to the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka. Mitaka is in the western part of Tokyo, and the museum is located in Inokashira Park, a nice park with water, trees, benches, and things. Studio Ghibli is one of the most famous animation studios in the world, perhaps only second to Disney (maybe Pixar too, but Disney just bought them, so I guess that makes this redundant).

Pictures weren't allowed inside the museum, but I took a few outside, and on the roof area.

I also took some pictures of food, and other miscellany.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

GateGate
Gate

This is right near the entrance.
Totoro the Ticket sellerTotoro the Ticket seller
Totoro the Ticket seller

This is Totoro, the most famous Ghibli creation. You can't actually buy tickets here, as all tickets must be bought in advance from convenience stores and the like.
Spiral StaircaseSpiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase

The staircase leads to the roof area. All the buildings of the museum feature interesting architecture and paint jobs.
Robot SoldierRobot Soldier
Robot Soldier

This robot is from the movie Laputa:Castle in the Sky. It's located on the roof.
Robot Soldier 2Robot Soldier 2
Robot Soldier 2

Same robot. It shoots lasers out of it's big eye. Maybe the small one too, I can't remember.
Mysterious CubeMysterious Cube
Mysterious Cube

Also from Laputa. I did a google search for Laputa Cube, and got a whole bunch of pictures that looked exactly the same as mine... makes the whole thing seem a little pointless.
Cake sighting!Cake sighting!
Cake sighting!

Standing on the roof, I saw some delicious looking cake in the Ghibli cafeteria... I had to capture it.
TicketTicket
Ticket

This ticket allows you to see one of the three short Ghibli films that can only be seen at the museum. I saw one about a guy that made a little star, from a seed... I think. It was in Japanese, so I missed most of the subtleties. The fellow on the ticket is Prince Ashitaka, from Princess Mononoke.
OfficeOffice
Office

This is where I spend alot of my time, the guesthouse office.
Office 2Office 2
Office 2

My usual seat. I bring the yellow chair from the kitchen, because it's the most comfortable. That is my grapefruit juice. I drink alot of it. Beside it is my tabasco sauce, which I apply liberally to most meals. I am using that computer right now, to produce this entry.
Office 3Office 3
Office 3

Another view. Lots of travel pamphlets.
Office 4Office 4
Office 4

The entrance. The sign says "Ikko Building", and the address.
Buttered ToastButtered Toast
Buttered Toast

My friend was making dinner, so I took some pictures. He puts butter on his cheese toast, which is completely unecessary.
SpaghettiSpaghetti
Spaghetti

This is Mama brand's famous Napolitan spaghetti sauce. It's really not very good.
Super FamicomSuper Famicom
Super Famicom

Japanese equivalent of the Super Nintendo. With Bomberman 4, one of the lesser Bomberman's, but still fun.
TVTV
TV

Johnny Bravo on the telly. There aren't many english channels, so in the rare event that I do watch TV (usually only while eating lunch), I find myself watching cartoons like Bugs Bunny, The Powerpuff Girls, or Spongebob. It's either that or Melrose Place. I think the choice is obvious.
FreezerFreezer
Freezer

Aside from the unwrapped chicken, everything is mine. Primarily pizza, gyoza, and shrimp and penne gratin.
GranolaGranola
Granola

This granola is delicious. I just had a bowl for breakfast. It's full of yummy fruit and hearty oats.
Finished SpaghettiFinished Spaghetti
Finished Spaghetti

It's acceptable, but not very enjoyable. Very low on vegetables. But I guess that can be expected for $1 per package.
ChopsticksChopsticks
Chopsticks

These are my Nightmare Before Christmas chopsticks, for use only with special meals. Nightmare Before Christmas is unbelievably popular here, much moreso than it ever was in North America. Many kids at school have Nightmare school accessories.
Italian UFOItalian UFO
Italian UFO

My favourite bowl noodle. It was a limited edition thing, so once it was gone, I went hunting for remaining stock. When I finally found some, I bought 8, and the cashier gave me a funny look. I still have one left, but I'm saving it until cloning technology improves sufficiently to include inanimate objects.


15th March 2006

chopsticks
I gotta get myself some of those "designer" chopsticks. I can just imagine the looks if you go to sushi and pull out your fancy fancy chopsticks. :) So how much time do you have left in Japan?
23rd April 2006

comments need a title?
glad to see some updates... had been a while since i checked out your adventures. keep it up, was cool to see you in pictures with some of your students. what are some of your other expenses? you've talked about food, but how about accomodations and travel?

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb