8 Weeks with Super Aguri Formula 1 - Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
March 8th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ayako & Yvette - Partners in crimeAyako & Yvette - Partners in crimeAyako & Yvette - Partners in crime

In/Out Team Board - At Aoyama, No Return.

Part 1 - Being on the project team



Introduction
Like all good stories, the emotion and satisfaction felt from the stories' end - that ultimate climactic high - can often only truely be felt when there is a significant low point, a battle or even a tragedy with which to juxtapose the ultimate (positive) outcome. War stories, love stories, you name them. The rollercoaster provides the adventure and enables one to magnify the glory at the end.

So I am going to take the luxury of presenting my next story - 8 Weeks with Super Aguri Formula 1 - as a two part series. This is for one main reason - to represent the climax in its broader context to ensure y'all don't get the impession that I am leading some kind of rock and roll life. 😉

How it started...
When joining the project team, I sat around a board room table for the project kick-off meeting with 6 team members, 2 support staff, 2 senior managers and 2 creatives. The task at hand was simple. 3 weeks to get the team entered into the F1, another 2 to get a promotional campaign started in
With Suzuki AguriWith Suzuki AguriWith Suzuki Aguri

At Super Aguri, Aoyama Head Office
Japan and then another 3 to get to the first race. And that in a nutshell has been my last 8 weeks of working life in Tokyo.

Along the way the 6 core team members turned to 2.
One of of the two was native Japanese. The other was me.

I have also seen two men go to blows in front of the whole office.
I have sat in a cigarette filled office for most of my days.
I have perservered through 4 hour meetings with no agenda and no (apparent) outcome.
I have sat in other meetings which could have been concluded in 20 minutes but took 1.5 hours because participants continuously answered their mobile phones.
I have eaten more meals than I would like to admit that are bought from a convenience store.
I have worked ridicously long hours, however only about two thirds of them were productive.
I have been the diplomat between two offices of two languages who don't always see eye to eye.
I have been more than just a translation service, I have had to become the expert in any topic which may require cross cultural communication. I've had a role in team photography, media communications, promotional activity, press conference logistics, merchandise, team wear, car livery branding, fan club and web site development.

And then there were the midnight consultations over multi-million FIA contracts, driver contracts, sponsor contracts, cash flow and P&L statements.

I have had to remain patient, positive and quitely influential.

But like any agency work, each day is different and each day poses a new challenge.

As many of you know, I have come to Japan on a working holiday visa, the purpose of which is to enable participants to engage in some work, with the intent to travel broadly and experience Japan and Japanese culture. Whilst my time here has undoubtably been more heavily weighted towards the 'working' aspect of the 'working holiday' the experience has been phenominal.

To be continued...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ayako at our working deskAyako at our working desk
Ayako at our working desk

At Super Aguri, Aoyama Head Office
Dinner?Dinner?
Dinner?

At Super Aguri, Aoyama Head Office
That's 10:50pm in Japan..That's 10:50pm in Japan..
That's 10:50pm in Japan..

At Super Aguri, Aoyama Head Office


12th March 2006

Can You Get Me Tix to a Race?
Great story Yvie. Now can you tell us all what the hell is Super Aguri Formula One? As a relatively devoted follower of F1 I have never heard of this team.
13th March 2006

check out this link... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Aguri_F1 I agree... any free tickets??

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 21; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb