End of Training


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Status: training complete!

So i made it through my week of training and the next stage is getting to my school and apartment next week! It feels like it flew by but when i look back and think about everything that has happened so far I realize that it would take a few hours just to tell you all about it. I'll try to do it in a few sentences though if I can. To sum it up I can say that it was a challenge. A challenge that really helped me learn alot and develop alot of skills in a really short amount of time. Apparently I am now able to teach about 25 different classes to students of the ages of 1 through 15, all high school kids, university kids, and business people and retirees of all ages. Not to mention provide counseling classes for all of my 300 students, interview prospective students and run seminars as well. Ya, i was as shocked as you when they told me that at the end of the week. It was really intensive, albeit a little overwhelming, but when some real japanese students came on wednesday for a lesson and i got to interact and teach them a portion of the class it really showed me just how much fun and how rewarding this position is going to be. So know that I am going into my first week with confidence and with incredible excitement (and nerves too!). I was talking to a group of elementary school kids on the street yesterday and it just reminded me of how awesome kids are, and i get to teach an average of 10 kids lesssons a week, along with 20 other classes including private lessons. So now I have the skills, ill put it together with the classic Crawford style and win em all over! I'll check back in a week with either the news that this is it for me and im not coming back...or ill be begging for help, who knows! One love everyone,

Sloan-sensei



Advertisement



24th October 2009

Way to go Sloan!!
I'm so excited for you Sloan! What a cool job opportunity! Have a super-duper time over there! We love you and are proud of you! Cousin Kristen :)
25th October 2009

wow -is all I can say
I would speculate that at the end of your year you will have developed skills that would take most of us years to learn. This is so amazing an opportunity for you, and I love to hear about your experiences, so keep on blogging. It also sounds like they expect you to adopt the famous Japanese work ethic which rivals mine as a notorious workaholic in my company...keep it up...love you...Aunt Mary and Tom
26th October 2009

Bonne chance
Good luck, Sloan on your first day of live teaching! Hope you have squeezed into your new abode ok!! You are a continuous presence in my daily thoughts. Dad
28th October 2009

Good Work
Hey Sloaner, Good work, glad you didn't screw it all up. Sounds like a very professional and conscientious company you are working with. Within a few weeks I'm sure all the nerves will be behind you and you will be everyone's favourite teach! We are missin ya! Steve
31st October 2009

Wax On: Wax Off!
31st October 2009

Whoops!
Last comment got sent before I wanted it to. I'll start again: You sound great , darlin and it's incredible reading your blogs! You're really being put through the paces, but I can't think of anyone more up to the challange! By the time you get home you will be chronologically one year older but "eons" more advanced (ha!) in other respects! How's your ironing coming along? (Ever the Mom)!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb