Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
July 30th 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

AsakasaAsakasaAsakasa

Maureen and I at the entrance of a temple in Asakasa market
So when I wasn't traveling through Japan I was spending time in Tokyo. I was able to stay with my sister and brother-in-law while I was there. My brother-in-law, Stephen, was transferred to Tokyo for work a little less than a year ago and my sister, Maureen, obviously came along. Although they work at the same company, Maureen is not working while in Tokyo so she made it easy for me to get around the city with her knowledge of the subway system (which is amazing, by the way) and her knowledge of the Japanese language (she has been taking classes while living there).

Again, I don't want to spend too much time writing about everything that I did. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. Overall, my time spent there included eating great food, visiting some of the more popular neighborhoods of the city, walking through huge markets, seeing famous shrines and temples, attending a Tokyo Swallows baseball game, and eating fresh tuna at 6:30 in the morning after seeing the famous tuna auction at Tokyo's Tsukiji fish market.

Tokyo definitely lives up to its reputation as being an expensive city, but I enjoyed it anyways. I was also treated to some good meals by Maureen and Stephen.

Enjoy the photos!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I'll be okay I'll be okay
I'll be okay

Tying your bad fortune to this rack allows the gods to take it away and keep it from becoming true. Phew!!!
Questionable chicken liverQuestionable chicken liver
Questionable chicken liver

I added as much spice as I could, but the iron-like after taste was still there. I did eat it all, but I'm thinking that it's an acquired taste.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb