Why??


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Kichijouji
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Watching Watching Watching

Just watching the masters at their craft
Why don't they heat the whole house. It is pretty cold here. There were actually some snow flurries really early in the morning in Tokyo today. The rooms here all have seperate heaters and they only turn on the one in the room they are using. So basically if you want to walk from one room to the other, you freeze. If you think to yourself you might like to get up in the middle of the night to take a piss, think again. You better put a sweater on before you go because it will be cold.

I believe that there is a good chance it will be snowing in Nagano tomorrow. In a place a bit farther north they are having a blizzard right now. I am pretty happy that I brought some nice warm cloths. Or at least a lot of cloths I can layer on top of each other.

So yesterday Risa's parent took me to a department store to buy some knives for me. They wanted to get me a present and I could not think of anything better than some real traditional Japanese sushi knives. We also bought a sharpening stone that is
Down the HatchDown the HatchDown the Hatch

Eating raw horse
much better than the one I have at home and her dad gave me a lesson on how to sharpen the knives. These will be my own personal sushi knives and they will never find their way to any of my jobs.

Last night Risa's parents took me to one of my favorite restaurants I have eaten at here in Japan. It was a kamameshi and yakitori restaurant. They have different types of mixed rices and a lot of different types of skewered items and little tapas plates. I love when I get to try a lot of different things and this place was perfect for it. In fact it gave me some great ideas for my tapas restaurant when I open it. You just order a lot of different things for the table and everybody shares. It was paradise. Her dad even ordered a few different types of sake to try out. We both seem to have the same taste in which we like, which works well enough. I tried some horse sashimi which turned out to be really good. I had never had horse before, let alone raw horse. Eventually me dad will never let me near
Kung PaiKung PaiKung Pai

Cheers
his farm, soon I will have eaten every type of animal he has for a pet, just a couple more to go. They also had ginko nuts which were nice and tasty.

Tonight for dinner we are having seafood shabu shabu. I am going to try Japan's number one crab. It is call Kaa Kane (or hairy crab in english) I guess it is either the one they like the best or at least the one they eat the most. I will also be drinking sake out of the shell along with crab guts... mmmm I know all of you at home are jealous of that.

Ok maybe not, but if I was you I would be.

Tomorrow we head to Nagano for Ryo's (Risa's brother) wedding.

On the way back from her brother's wedding, Risa's parents are taking me to wasabi farm to try real wasabi. I am pretty excited about that. For all you who don't know, 99% of the wasabi we eat at home is just colored horseradish. Real wasabi is actually pretty expensive (about $20 for a piece the size of my finger)

I feel I may have become a bit
Picturesque JapanPicturesque JapanPicturesque Japan

This is what most people think of when they think of modern Japan
long winded on this particular entry so I will leave it at that.

Sayonara


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Real WasabiReal Wasabi
Real Wasabi

Just showing you guys what real wasabi looks like and costs. $20
Expensive KnivesExpensive Knives
Expensive Knives

Jimmy you can't complain about my $125 knives anymore. At least I don't buy $800 knives
Just WeirdJust Weird
Just Weird

The weirdest mannequin I have ever seen. I still can't quite figure out what the hell is going on.
Chef's on DisplayChef's on Display
Chef's on Display

They kept looking at us like we were crazy. you would think they are used to people looking at them considering they work in front of a window
KamameshiKamameshi
Kamameshi

mixed rice
YakitoriYakitori
Yakitori

From my favorite restaurant
Horse SashimiHorse Sashimi
Horse Sashimi

It was quite good
ExpensiveExpensive
Expensive

3 apples and 3 oranges, only $30.
Just WanderingJust Wandering
Just Wandering

Found an interesting little temple. Once again I am a bit too tall


22nd November 2007

Raw horse?
C'mon, really the little crab thing wasn't enough? You hadda go and eat something from the Breeders Cup? Nice pictures though.
26th November 2007

finally back on line!
Dear Brett, After reading about what you have been eating it will be a cold day in hell before I kiss those lips again! hahah It sounds like you are having a great time. Thank you for doing this . I get to travel through you. Tell Lisa to send our regards to them and thank them for taking care of you. I can't wait for you to come home and make some of that food. I am sure we will hear more about the wedding now stop eating that weird stuff. Love and kisses Mom

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb