Japan (Day 1) - Shibuya, Harajuku


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Harajuku
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Awoke at 11am, probably got out of the house at noon. I was on a mission to go to Shibuya 109, a pretty renown department store, specializing in more youthful women's fashion. I bought a spring jacket at Spiga that basically looks like a Tiffany's box. No bows, though (not japanese-y enough! oh well). Must go back, to get a pair of sunglasses and a top at Love Drug Store. They also had this heart-shaped utensil to serve/cook eggs in...possible souvenir. Oh! Before we went inside Shibuya 109, we passed a fabric shop, and one piece stood out to me like woah! and I thought it perfect for the tote bag I want to make out of the WVFI shirt I bought a few weeks ago; this made me happy.

We had tonkatsu for lunch today, it was yummy (even though I wasn't into the deep-friedness off it all. I was also DEFINITELY not into the fact that I dropped my camera during lunch, and it is now not functioning properly. I'll likely need to get a new one here. =T

We then were headed to Harajuku, but since the Meiji Temple was like right there, decided to stroll in. It's apparently THE place to be on New Year's Day, I suppose like Times Square on NYE. It was nice, in the back of the place, there was a huge meadow with cherry blossom trees; too bad the grass was dead and the trees aren't in bloom until a few weeks from now...the entire setting was just too analogous for words to be written here...but anyhow, it kind of reminded me of being in Central Park (minus all the dead nature), because above the trees, you could see some high-rises and stuff...I'd imagine it's a pretty sweet place in the springtime. The Meiji Temple is completely surrounded by forests of towering trees, it's a nice walk...makes you feel small, but in a good way.

Harajuku was interesting, but being as it was a Monday, perhaps not as ridiculous as it is to be on the weekends. I thought I would be really impressed or astounded by the fashion/kids there, but surprisingly I wasn't. Possibly even a bit jaded. Unfortunate. I did manage to buy some socks though. Nic bought a scarf that I was thinking about purchasing...too bad I don't make decisions fast enough. We took a break and had some crepes, which is apparently popular in Japan, oddly.

Last night, me and Nicolas went to Trouble Peach, one of his favorite bars. It was quite small! I have never been to a bar that tiny, though I had heard about the ones in Japan. It wouldn't be able more than 8, likely. However, there are a couple floors of the place, and the other ones are like a real sized bar. When I took a picture of the sign, I hadn't realized what the place looked like on the inside, and when Nic said it was crowded, (I saw about 5 people from the glass door), I was like, really? That's only one group of people I see...ha, little did I know.

I think the plans tonight are to go back to Shinjuku to see one of his friends play the sax.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



23rd October 2008

Japan
I find it insane that you've been to Japan. I knew you went, but it didn't really register, you know? It must have been an experience. Def a destination on my "places to see" list =]

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb