Sayonara, Students!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
February 18th 2011
Published: February 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Alas, graduation for both of my schools is on March 3, and I will have to say goodbye to my current students and break in a new batch. Knowing I only have a few more classes with each group has gotten me reminiscing about my teaching experiences thus far. I've really gotten attached to my students, especially the ones who make me laugh.

Who knows if they'll remember me fondly, or at all, but they will always have a special place in my heart as my first students. With no training whatsoever, I entered their classrooms and tried my best - making a fool of myself by gesturing wildly, dancing, tripping over myself and even singing the Beatles a capella.

Through them I learned how to deal with silent, "invisible wall" classes (awkwardly, frustrated-ly doing the cabbage patch is not an effective method, I've found) and classes who spend the full 50 minutes screaming and punching each other. Although teaching may not fit into my grand future plans, these everyday experiences have been a key part of my adventures and have helped me grow as a person.

One of the best things about teaching in Japan, which JETs probably spend too much time discussing, is the amazing English lines that students and teachers say to (or shout at) us. So, I'd like to share some of the funniest things my students have said to me this year:

Me: "What did you do over the winter vacation?" Student: "I sleep every day because I don't have girlfriend."

"You are dangerous!"

"You are troublemaker!"

(After learning that I have a boyfriend) "My heart break."

(In the middle of demonstrating a conversation with the Japanese teacher) "CUT!!"

"What's up?"

"Do you love me?"

(When asked to open the textbook after playing a game) "Really?!!"

"Susan hair... not brown."

"Susan nose... tall."

(Written for a speaking test using question words) "Where face?" (After learning that this doesn't make sense and discussing it with the Japanese teacher) "Where is the face on a snail?"

"I am disappoint at you!"

(After touching my hair) "Sexual harrassment!"

"Human body... destroy!"

(Written on a worksheet about shopping) Name of the student's shop, which sold animals: "Sexy at the Zoo." I bought one: "sexy cat" because: "it was very sexy."

"Hey, hey, hey!"

"Please give us candy!"

Students: "I saw you and your boyfriend." Me: "He wasn't my boyfriend, just a friend." Students: "Ohh, business friend!"

(While crawling/grovelling on the floor) "Very sorry, Susan, very sorry!" (Later on) "We are best friends."

Me: "I don't like scary movies." Student: "I'll guard!"

Me, to a group of boy students: "What is your team name?" Students: "Team I love man."

"I am Avatar."

"I am crazy boy!"

"I am monkey."

Advertisement



18th February 2011

Doroubo
You've clearly stolen my students GIVE THEM BACK. Thanks! :D

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb