Oh... I do like to be beside the seaside


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka » Shimoda
July 8th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I found myself becoming filled with a childlike enthusiasm as I sat on the train to Izukyu Shimoda and watched the coastline whiz by the window as I was off to the beach.
My accommodation was a place called Ernest House (named after Ernest Hemingway) and it was a very laid back lodging only a minute away from Kisami- Ohama beach. The staff were very laid back and were not hung up on timings and rules, more that you just enjoy your stay how you want.
Breakfast was served in quite an unorthodox way, at around 8am a hamper filled with breakfast goodies was left outside your door for you to collect when you wanted and eat when and where you wanted. It was a nice change of pace and it felt like a mini beach holiday and a welcome break from travelling in cities.
The beach was quiet as I took a stroll on it it in the afternoon except for a few surfers negotiating the ever increasing waves. I was surprised how big the waves were getting and it did lead me to think if there was an earthquake the area would be very vulnerable to tsunamis (echoed in the frequent signage around the town warning about tsunamis).
I took a walk around Shimoda centre in the beautiful sunshine (this did lead me to become rather sunburnt despite using factor 50) I walked around the port area and took in the sights on the walking route map. It was getting very hot when I reached the park but there was a lot of shade and it was worth it to see the beautiful and numerous colourful hydrangea that were spread through out the park.
There were some amazing views from the upper levels of the park which made it worth the climb.
I wandered back down to the coast to see what a floating aquarium looked like and decided against paying the entry fee after seeing quite a small tank in which several large turtles were kept and small pens in the sea for the dolphins.
I carried on past the aquarium and along a scenic coastal walkway which led to a couple of quiet bays with no more than a couple of people at each.
I walked back through the centre of Shimoda to take a look at Perry road with its willow tree lined streets, cafes and antiques and headed back to the station to catch a bus back to the beach.
I arrived with enough time to walk down to the beach and watch the sunset on a wonderful couple of days (although I did wish Martin was with me to make it just perfect). I felt refreshed and revived after my days spent by the sea



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb