Who trims the oil paintings?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shimane » Yasugi
February 10th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rain..... crowds.......more rain........more crowds. Actually, the crowds weren't that bad at all. Even better, the good thing at the Adachi Museum of Art is that people almost can't get in the way of 'that shot'. (They still managed sometimes, they always will - but no doubt I got in the way of a few myself).

The museum has five outdoor garden areas and a few displays and collections inside. To be honest, I didn't go for the indoor part, though I did check it all out. For the last five years running the gardens have been voted the best in Japan. I was hoping to see them in that brochure-like state looking as though someone had tipped a bag of icing sugar over them (the winter view) - but Yasugi didn't come to the party with the snow. Never mind, at least I got in for half price (sometimes it's good to be a foreigner in Japan, they assumed I was just visiting) and it was definitely worth the 1000 yen I paid.

The place is set up so that you walk through an indoor area with big windows (in some parts floor to ceiling) and look out on the gardens. No need to give anyone the evil eye for getting in the way of your photo ;-) I didn't strictly play the game though because while I could appreciate the frame effect I decided that windows that weren't locked were made to be opened, so opened and leaned right out to take my photos.

The crowds - there weren't really that many people. The rain - it didn't rain the whole time, and whenever I sat anywhere to just soak in the view I didn't really notice the people. I just listened to the rain........


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.61s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 38; qc: 162; dbt: 0.4543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb