Octopus Balls, anyone?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
June 14th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and my new friend...Me and my new friend...Me and my new friend...

The things we do for lov- i mean food.

My new kitchen appliance...and my new friend.




Takoyaki is a specialty of Osaka, but is eaten all over Japan, including my house! It does NOT refer to any part of an octopus’ anatomy…but rather the fact that the finished product is round and contains octopus.

I saw this takoyaki machine and snapped it up immediately! It plugs in, heats up and you can pour your mixture into 20 little depressions in the metal and poke and turn and prod your Takoyaki balls until they’re ready.

Unfortunately the first batch I made didn’t have enough liquid so they were rather heavy and not fluffy, but I have high hopes for the next batch. Next time I’m also just going to buy a big chunk of Octopus leg….I can live WITHOUT the octopus HEAD thankyou very much…



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me and my new friend...Me and my new friend...
Me and my new friend...

This was obviously taken before I discovered that the head was still attached
Me and my new friend...Me and my new friend...
Me and my new friend...

Coming to terms with it...
Me and my new friend...Me and my new friend...
Me and my new friend...

Still dealing a little bit


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb