Bent like a rice stalk in the wind...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
June 16th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I read somewhere that the perfect Japanese bow is one where you emulate a ‘rice stalk, bending in the wind’



I took a detour on the way home the other day, and managed to get a few pictures of my surroundings. You will see rice fields - plenty of those in the area - and also some of the hazards associated with driving in Japan.

I am talking about the one way- oops I meant 2 way streets, the impromptu train crossings you have to remember exist, and the ‘this is a sharp corner so we’ll just put a mirror up shall we?’ safety measures.

As much as I grumble it is fun to drive here. The maximum speed in my area is 50km per hour, people nod and let you go first, or do a little bow when you let them go first, they dim their lights if their car is pointing at you when they’re trying to park, or they’ll reverse up a street a bit so you can fit your car past them on one side and the 2 metre ditch on the other…..

Driving in Japan has increased my awareness of the cars around me, the pedestrians, cyclists, dogs, birds, old ladies on little buggy bike things, and I suppose the unicycles I’m told exist for masses of elementary students but that I haven’t seen with my own eyes.

I feel safe driving, and I like that I’m in the country and have a bit of nature nearby. It doesn’t beat the ocean for a bit of serenity, but at night, if I listen carefully……I can hear the frogs croaking.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Imagine being a grain of rice...Imagine being a grain of rice...
Imagine being a grain of rice...

Then again...aren't we all grains of rice in the great field of life? (couldn't resist - apologies)
Believe it or not...Believe it or not...
Believe it or not...

...this is a 2 way street up ahead.
JitenshaJitensha
Jitensha

My bike
My car!My car!
My car!

Lucky it's so small...
The Batmovan!The Batmovan!
The Batmovan!

When blue was 'in'
Just another sunsetJust another sunset
Just another sunset

Caught this one as i was headed home


18th June 2008

great writing AND great pics...
your writing creates pictures and your pictures...hmmm beautiful stuff!! I'm really intrigued by the incredible 360 degrees of difference in landscape, cityscape, edibles...do you perhaps feel a little discombobulated? The way you record and interpret leaves no doubt that you will be a published writer my dear!! love Aunt Caroline
18th June 2008

Discombobulation Negation
I felt out of my depth when i arrived in my city, being now separated from all of the other foreigners I had made bonds with, and had to survive alone on my own two feet. To be sure I felt discombobulated then....new language, new foods, new sights and smells...but that has since worn off, along with, i fear, some of that novelty factor. I find it has been all to easy to slide into that sense of the mundane, doing only necessary tasks and not really seeing too much of the city i live in. That was what prompted me to take my detour. I was sick of seeing the same buildings on the way to the same apartment... I'm looking for cost effective ways to enjoy myself... seeing as the novelty of being a bill payer is wearing off as well. Love from some Barrett DNA ^_^
24th June 2008

Excessive Politeness Kills.
I kid you not, National Hwy 2 runs through the city I used to live it. Now it's a 'proper' dual carriageway with room for a car in each lane, but it used to be so narrow that the front doors of people's houses would sometimes be clipped by passing traffic. The traffic politeness you mention is a cool feature of Japan. It means more than road rules, but because of the state of the roads that's probably a good thing. Be very careful when you come back to Australia. I nearly got taken out when I expected oncoming cars to slow down for me as a matter of course when I was turning right in front of them. In Japan it would have been polite and conducive to traffic flow. In Australia it will get you killed.
25th June 2008

I will have to remember that...
I will tuck that notelet away for future reference Bren... along with all the stuff i've read about reverse culture shock - it's still a long way off...then again it's been 3 months now eep! >_<

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb