OSAKA, JAPAN FIRST FULL DAY


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
April 2nd 2013
Published: April 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

OSAKA, DAY 2 - Went downstairs for breakfast and a long line had formed. Buffet was about $35. US and the American breakfast was about $30. So I thought I could do better on the street or in the mall I ate dinner in last night. I was correct in that the prices were significantly lower, but I wasn’t that hungry. I just wanted enough to take my pills and get the day started. I went to McDonald’s, but I used the Japanese menu (picture)! An egg mcmuffin and coffee cost about $4. US.

Fortified I went to one of the major tourist draws in Osaka, the Osaka Castle. It’s not far from my hotel as the crow flies, but the crow doesn’t walk up the hill! Beautiful grounds, I have taken literally hundreds of pictures of the amazing cherry blossoms. I can’t resist their beauty. It was overcast and cool, not cold, but the threat of rain was there. Made it up the hill to the entrance. Tickets were dispensed by vending machine using, of course, Japanese money. The directions were not translated, so I learned what to do by observing those who knew what they were doing. Got into the grounds and walked some more. Two lines were available; one for the elevator (tempting at this point) which was very long, and one for stairs up to the eighth floor of the building, which had no wait. I sucked it up and went up the stairs. The first seven floors were nicely done exhibits of the history of the castle and the events that centered around the castle in the years from it’s founding in the late 1500’s. The eighth floor allows access to a viewing area which extends around the whole building. Wonderful views!

While I was leaving the park, a couple in traditional Japanese dress was being photographed by a professional. I don’t know if it was for and advertisement spread or for a wedding, but I got a picture of them as subjects of a photo shoot. The Osaka Castle Park has 1250 Japanese plum trees and 4,500 cherry trees and has a chrysanthemum festival in autumn.

I went back to my hotel because it was starting to sprinkle and I had an umbrella in my room. Lunch time was coming and I went back to the mall where there are about fifteen restaurants serving Japanese food. I had heard that most people in the hospitality industry speak at least a little English. So far I haven’t met many in the restaurants I’m going to that speak English, but they all try to accommodate me. I had some fried shrimp, a small bowl of soup which was good, but three somethings were floating in the broth. Not a hint as to what they were, but it was good. Then there was a beef and onion sauté which was very good. Tried to use the chopsticks, but after a while I reverted to the fork which was provided. A salad with a lot of bean sprouts and a generous portion of rice were both good. All was washed down with a half liter of Japanese beer, all for about $19. US.

Only two blocks away was the ticket booth for the Osaka River Cruise on a ship they call, in English, the Aqualiner, a nice enclosed boat that cruised for about an hour roundtrip on several of the rivers in Osaka. Nice trip and some highlights were announced in Japanese and English. Some people used the boat as a water taxi, going for
GOKURAKUBASHI BRIDGEGOKURAKUBASHI BRIDGEGOKURAKUBASHI BRIDGE

TO THE ENTRANCE
Osaka Castle to other parts of the city. It was still sprinkling on my way back to the hotel, but it was not a heavy rain.

Went to dinner at another local Japanese restaurant. I can’t tell you it’s name because there was no English translation for the name or the menu. No one spoke English, but I did ok by pointing. Got my liter of beer and a dish that was a noodles, beef and cabbage in a sauce. Very good and the beer (Kirin) was very good as well. Total bill was about $22. US. I had been concerned about tipping in Japan. I watched two other couples in the restaurant and observed that they didn’t tip, so I didn’t either. It seems strange to me, but that’s what experiencing other cultures is about. Still needed an umbrella to keep from the light sprinkles, but back in the hotel safe and looking forward to a good night of sleep. I don’t know yet what I’ll do tomorrow. I’ll see when I get there.

 

I don’t remember if I mentioned this; Japanese golfers take out hole in one insurance for their golf adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

MY HOTELMY HOTEL
MY HOTEL

FROM THE CASTLE


2nd April 2013

Osaka
Osaka looks beautiful! Cherry blossoms in full bloom...lucky you. Little somethings in the soup...love it!
16th April 2013

Beautiful!
Oh my, everything is so beautiful, even with the gray skies you're pictures are wonderful. Is it as clean as it looks?
17th April 2013

Beautiful!
Yes, it is remarkably clean for a big city.

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb