Apparently the weather is dull in Fukuoka too...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Okinawa Honto
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, Naha

The redhancer put to good use here
I had the left the curtains open wide to allow myself to be woken up by the shining light of a new sunny day. Not so. Instead I woke to the sound of noise in the corridor and the hum from the air conditioner. Looking out the window those dreary miserable grey clouds were stll hanging there in the sky, like a carpet of moisture. There was a fine layer of water spreadout on the streets and roofs of nearby houses, light rain seemed to be coming and going. I was not the only one to vent my frustration, angry Hercs were buzzing in circles across the sky and tear the clouds to shreds, and lonely Sea Knight helicopters were heading for distant horizons. As if to tease me, there was suddenyl a small rupture in the cloud layer and a fine slice of light blue sky could be seen. Slowly a number of buildings started shining in the darkness as they reflected the sunlight shone upon them. Gradually more and more buildings joined in and it looked as if the day could be salvaged after all. I hadn't even finsihed jumping into my clothes until this error was discovered and
Shuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, Naha

The polarizer brings out some blue from the sky, but cannot accomplish much more
corrected by a higher power, and the clouds sealed shut the open wound among them. Well, at least the rain had stopped.

I was really disappointed with this bad weather luck, knowing that my expedition to photograph Shuri-jo, the famed castle of Naha, was kind of doomed from the start. Shuri-jo used to be the palace of the Ryukyuan kingdom (a string of islands), and like all its counterpart gusuku (palaces) across the region it had been destroyed through the grinding teeth of history. Pounded into dust during three days of intense shelling from the U.S. fleet during the Battle of Okinawa in 1945, it has since been reconstructed and is now open to visitors. The main hall is a striking red structure just begging for some blue sky as a backdrop, instead it would now have to do with miserable grey. I spent most of my time outside of the main structure just sucking in its beauty and trying to do some kind of justice to it in my pictures. The rest of the palace tour takes place inside the main structure and an exhibition complex next to it. You are neatly herded from point A to C
Shuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, Naha

Half-color brown is also useful to add that Hollywood feel to a hopelessly white sky
via B and end up outside the walls again through a second gate. Admission is 800 yen, worth it for taking the photos alone.

As I got out the weather once again seemed to change for the better, but it was a short lived illusion. I took the monorail back to town and walked through the entertainment area one more time, and I found it just as decidedly unimpressive as yesterday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Shuri-jo castle, NahaShuri-jo castle, Naha
Shuri-jo castle, Naha

I think this one is pretty striking too... ;)


20th November 2007

So that´s what you´re doing !
Testing your camera I see. I like the red/blue version !!

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 167; dbt: 0.2239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb