Scuba Diving - Night Dive at the Seawall


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
August 15th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Night Dive at the Seawall



This dive was a bit of a disaster because neither my budy or I was very familiar with the area and the visibility was poor. Everything went fine however and we had a safe dive (which is the most important thing). We basically followed a chain that ran along the seafloor out to a depth of about 50 feet. From there we just swam to the left and then to the right, always coming back to the chain. Because we hadn't dove at the seawall very much, we didn't really see anything too amazing. There were a ton of sea snakes out and they creaped me out. Yuck!

The best part of the dive was when I caught a HUGE pufferfish. Pufferfish get lazy at night and won't really try to swim away when you come near them...it's basically a half-hearted attempt at swimming away on their part. As we swam along I saw a rather large pufferfish just hanging out near the bottom of the ocean floor so I swam up and put my hands on it. It wouldn't fill up with water so I had to squeeze it a bit. When it filled with water, it was about as big around as my chest. Pufferfish are fun to play with when they puff up...you can chest pass them in the water (like a basketball) with a dive buddy. I'm so mean...hehe.

We also saw a cuttlefish. Every time my flash went off, the cuttlefish inked at us. While we were watching it, it seemed to glow in the water. Unfortunately, the photos I took didn't really turn out to well, and don't show this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb