We're the only westerners on the block!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama » Okayama
July 16th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well after catching a train from Kagoshima to Okayama we are now in our hotel room just unloading the rucksacks off our backs. It was funny but at Hiroshima station four westerners joined our train and too be honest I thought "we're the only westerners on this train" - sounds like "I'm the only gay in the village", ha ha. Cannot add any photos as the wifi in our hotel in Okayama is really bad - sorry.

When arranging our trains for Takayama and then onto Tokyo the queue ended up being out of the building as the poor man behind the counter was getting flustered with our request. I did say to him once he had completed the bookings "you speak very good English - to which he beamed and said do I" ah bless.

Tomorrow we are off to an island called Naoshima. It is the location of the Benesse Art collection which shows some of Japan's best contemporary art I have heard some of it is supposed to be in stunning natural settings.

There are works of art from David Hockney, Andy Warhol and Jasper Johns to name a few. I have found out that on the island there is a hotel which is attached to the museum and we have managed to book a room at this hotel. I have been told if you stay in the hotel you have access to the museum 24 hours a day and you also have access to some works of art that are not open for the public to view which should be different.

I have also booked us meal in the restaurant which again is situated in the middle of the museum - I cannot wait - as some of you may already know I am studying for an Art degree through the Open University so this is right up my street.

We are going for 40 winks now and then when it gets cooler we are going to take a walk along the Nishigawa canal which should take us to the Okayama Castle.

Advertisement



17th July 2012

Umbrella
Cany believe nobody nicked your umbrella. I had my cycling shorts (which haven't been washed since christmas) lifted from the dry room yesterday! Sounds like you are having a great time

Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb