Singapore to Nagasaki (May 2013)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagasaki » Nagasaki
May 16th 2013
Published: May 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 16th May 2013, 10.30pm

My ultimate trip to the Land of Rising Sun & I'm determined to complete it on a perfect note as I journeyed across Western Honshu & Kyushu.


I boarded Jetstar Airways flight JQ 63 to embark on my 4,940km journey to the city of Osaka. For the Singapore-Osaka leg, I was onboard the A330-200 double-aisled flight which was able to accomodate 303 passengers on a 2-4-2 configuration. Flight time was reduced to a mere 6 hours & 30 minutes thanks to the direct overnight hop to Kansai Airport.

Having just finished work at 5.30pm, I had barely enough time to rush home for a quick shower and dinner before making my way to the airport for the 10.30pm flight. My body was exhausted even though I was fully aware that this would be another sleepness night for me on the plane.

I was lucky to be seated among the emergency rows which meant a generous leg space for my 1.77m frame. Jetstar Airways impressed me with their complimentary water re-filling points and Osaka travel videos prior to our arrival. All other services came with a price tag even though I was happy to stow away with the latest issue of their inflight magazine.

It was closed to 6am on Friday, 17th May 2013 when my plane finally touched down in Osaka. As soon as I cleared the Japanese customs, I stopped by at my favourite Doutor Coffee Shop for breakfast. 380 Yen (SGD 4.75) could fetch me a decent cup of coffee and a freshly made sandwich coupled with great Japanese hospitality. This was a nice welcome meal for me before I continued my rail jouney to the city of Nagasaki, another 850km away.

Armed with my Japan Railway Pass, I took a combination of Shinkansen and Limited Express Trains from Kansai Airport to Nagasaki. After two transfers in Shin-Osaka and Hakata Stations, I finally arrived at the city at 2.47pm. Very soon, I was making my way to Chisun Grand Hotel, about 8 minutes walk from the train station.

Judging by the colourful trams in Nagasaki that greeted me on my way to the hotel, I had a feeling that I'm going to complete my ultimate trip in Japan on a perfect note.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb