Momiji: Japanese Maple (Finally It Looks Like Autumn)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 23rd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tofuku-ji Bridge ViewTofuku-ji Bridge ViewTofuku-ji Bridge View

This is one of many reasons why many flock to Kyoto for seasonal viewing.
Colorful leaves (koyo) are to the Japanese autumn what cherry blossoms are to spring. The viewing of autumn leaves has been a popular activity among the Japanese for centuries and today still draws large numbers of viewers to famous spots.

Today, accompanied by Ayako, I went by Keihan Line to the temple of Tofuku-ji, one of the best, if not the best spot, in Kyoto to do some Momiji viewing. If you know me outside of this blog then you probably know that autumn is my favorite season. It's a common occurrence for me to completely stop walking and daze into the beauty of autumn for minutes at a time at random locations. Unfortunately I thought autumn colors had missed Japan, but in actuality the leaves just manage to not change until almost December, very much unlike my home situation where the trees are most likely completely bare at this time.

Anyhow, after hopping off the train at Tofukuji Station, Ayako and I were reminded that today is a national holiday in Japan (Labor Thanksgiving) and almost half of Kansai's population had the same idea to go enjoy the autumn colors on their day off. It was
CrimsonCrimsonCrimson

Japanese Maple at its finest.
the first time I had my leg run over by a stroller, an obaachan elbow me, and participate in a mini-mash pit since I’ve arrived to Japan three months ago. Wow, has it seriously already been three months!?... The leaves were all I had hoped they would be. The red's were nice and crimson, while in other areas some maple leaves were green, orange, and red at the same time. ahhh blissful! I hope you enjoy the photos of autumn in Kyoto.

On a similar note about Kyoto: It's amazing how much contrast exists in Japan. I often go back and forth between Osaka and Kyoto in my normal life here, but this transition couldn't be any more diverse. You go from the hustle and bustle of pop culture, construction, and noise of Osaka to the Temples, Snacks, and rickshaws of Kyoto. Both have their pluses, but it's amusing to me how much diversity exists in this country.

PS: Hiroshima got pushed back from last weekend to this upcoming weekend. So in just a few days, if all goes according to plan, I'll be spending the weekend in the city of Hiroshima. Miyajima, I’m coming for you! Stay
Tofuku-ji Gateway SkyTofuku-ji Gateway SkyTofuku-ji Gateway Sky

Rainbow caught relaxing in the sky without any rain involved.
tuned for winter break plans...ideas have been shaping up, growing and growing as the days pass, and could potentially be one of the best opportunities of my life. I'll keep you posted...
- Zach


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Torii GatesTorii Gates
Torii Gates

Different perspective of the holy Torii gates.
Torii GatesTorii Gates
Torii Gates

Trying to go for the Grudge look...;) Sorry I missed Halloween by a little bit!
AyakoAyako
Ayako

Working for the shot...
AyakoAyako
Ayako

Trying to go for the candid shot, which often times ends up being the better shot too...
Autumn SkyAutumn Sky
Autumn Sky

The Japanese call this sky: Aoi Zora - simply meaning Fall Sky.
GatewayGateway
Gateway

Very popular architecture found at almost every Japanese Temple.
Remaining GreenRemaining Green
Remaining Green

Unlike Pennsylvania, Leaves remain green even now at the time of Thanksgiving.
Kyoto JR StationKyoto JR Station
Kyoto JR Station

Thank you Japan for helping my Christmas needs...
JR Kyoto StationJR Kyoto Station
JR Kyoto Station

Most likey one of the biggest and most modern train stations in the world.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb