Whisky - Indigo - Sword


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
December 20th 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Looks like a platypusLooks like a platypusLooks like a platypus

Spent a bit of time on the trains, this month. This is one of the Shinkansen, or 'bullet-trains' and unless you stand next to one on the platform, it's hard to understand quite how long that nose is. They're all different from each other, I think because Japan's railway system isn't owned by one company, so the rolling stock differs from line-to-line. One cautionary note about this: there are oddities such as two different lines at Tokyo Narita airport, both going into the Tokyo city, each with their own 'Platform 1'. Make sure you get the right one.
I know there's an odd-one out in that title, as 'Sword' isn't in the phonetic alphabet (should be Sierra). I'll explain why it's there down below.

Another thing always interested me about the Japanese was their capacity for improving something, or practising something to perfection, regardless of how long it takes (or whether what they're doing is even commercially viable). There was something of that attitude on display in that Kyudo session a couple of entries ago and I am curious about a country in which you can get Dan (master) grades just like in martial arts, but for Ikebana (flower arranging). And I know you can find craftsmen and women in the West that take what they do just as seriously, but here, they designate a select few people a 'Living National Treasure' if they are keeping alive something unique to Japan at a high enough level of artistry. In the last couple of weeks I've managed to check a few things out, making a change from merely sightseeing.


Whisky



The Japanese make quite good whisky. I know this because I had a bottle from the Scotch Malt Whisky Society in Leith a year ago (bottle number 116.10 for those of you who have come along to any of the tastings with me; please bear with me the rest of you for a couple of paragraphs). It was from the Yoichi distillery on Japan's northernmost island, Hokkaido, and was so good I called them up and ordered a second one. I recall my cousin Steve was up for a visit from Lancashire around the same time. I'd recently picked up the new car and we crammed it with the tent, sleeping bags, stoves, walking gear and my bottle and blasted off to the West coast. We had sunshine; we had the roof down and Led Zeppelin playing at a very high volume... we had a great lads' weekend in the Inverpolly area. I can recommend Achmelvich campsite by the way, just North of Lochinver, from where you can get pies by post (I'm not kidding, look up Pies by Post and you'll see). We parked the car up at the edge of the sea and sat on the rocks with a glass of whisky each (and Steve; you threatened to drill the brakes on my car, but if I get that new 370 after all, I'll make a visit to yours and we'll see about it, hm?)- but I am digressing, excuse me...

So; returning to Japan after Shanghai I stopped overnight at a small town called Kobuchizawa, just outside of which is Suntory's Hakushu distillery. It's 2 hours train ride West of Tokyo and not in any guidebook I've seen so far.
It's in a pretty location, and has two pagoda still-houses linked by a bridge poking out of the treetops, but I couldn't get to the right place to replicate the photo on the brochure, so here's someone else's. They have acquired 82 hectares of land around the distillery for the cultivation of a bird sanctuary as well and all in all, its a pleasant spot.

The tour was in Japanese only, but I know enough about the process by now. They took about an hour to run through the mash-tun and washbacks (wooden), still house, and they even had a guy charring barrels before they were filled. They don't malt their own barley on site, it is all imported. Come the tasting at the end I had to stop them adding ice to mine; its not that they didn't understand how to serve it,
Nara: The Tōdai-ji temple, Daibutsuden INara: The Tōdai-ji temple, Daibutsuden INara: The Tōdai-ji temple, Daibutsuden I

The Daibutsuden was destroyed twice by fire in 1180 and 1567. The 3rd time they re-built it, they made is a third smaller, but it's [i]still[/i] the largest wooden building in the world.
whisky is just drunk that way by most people here. So I tried Hakushu 12-year old, and another Suntory brand: Yamazaki 12-year, note both bottled at 43%!w(MISSING)hich is stronger than the 40%!y(MISSING)ou normally pick off the shelf in the UK, so I added a little water. The tasting notes said the Yamazaki had vanilla in it, but I couldn't detect any, though it was sweet with dried fruit. I preferred the Hakushu; it had a green, or straw, flavour to the nose, then smoke; fresher with water and I picked up dried fruit too, which got stronger with warming.

So not having too much luggage space, I bought a 1/3rd bottle of cask-strength stuff, and if I can find anyone who's company I enjoy enough to share it with, will have a fantastic Christmas after dinner (most likely noodles) with them.


Indigo



I moved on to Kyoto after that, and spent about a week there. Kyoto has barely any skyscrapers compared to Tokyo, and is the place for spotting Geisha scurrying between taxis and clients in the old town. My guidebook made some remarks about 'Geisha-spotting' and where to do it, and a few of the other travellers I spoke to whilst there were indulging in hanging around trying to snatch a photo. One of them was successful but at cost, because it appears the Geisha turned her face away and silently stood still until they left her alone. I didn't feel that enthusiastic about interrupting a girl who's work involves dressing up, with a flashgun to the face. Doesn't quite fit with the manners the Japanese are known for, so I've left them to it. If you want a picture of one, you can find plenty on the internet.

Anyway, about 10 minutes West of Imadegawa metro station in Kyoto, down a back-street, is a 120-year old building which is the Aizenkobo Workshop where Ken-Ichi Utsuki carries on the family business of indigo dying. He is descended from Samurai, and takes such a long time to create rich, deep blue colours that his clothes are works of art, from ordinary shirts to hakama, kimono, scarves and dresses (he even has works in the permanent collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, his wife told me). I arrived at the shop having little awareness of indigo beyond what I picked up from one of those arty interiors books. So I had a look about, loved one pattern in particular and bought a shirt. I'm not going to tell you how much it cost, but I've built him up enough now, you can guess it was a lot. I think because I spent some money but also because I was clearly interested, he asked me to follow through to the back of his office, which was typical tatami-matting, shoji paper-screens and beautifully stark. He explained how the dye is obtained from the plant, how each dip only produces a slight change in shade, so cottons get up to 20 and silks up to 40 dips to get the required depth of colour. Out the back he showed me 3 deep pots, each with purple froth and bubbles on the top, all of which had been fermented for a week to produce useable dye. After each dip the fabric is stretched out to air-dry, so the whole process takes time. Ken-Ichi told me how indigo-dyed clothes are mosquito and even fire-resistant, and to show this he set light to a small square of fabric in a dish, which burned for a few seconds but failed to catch and went out. Then he pulled out some 80-year old firefighters clothes from his father's collection, dyed so much they were nearly black. Above all, he was keen to point out the difference between natural indigo dye and modern ones created in a laboratory which will dye with a single dip but start fading to a muddy grey after a couple of years, showing me examples of this as well.

His website is at http://www.aizenkobo.jp/. Like the whisky, he's not in the guidebook either, but I am glad I came across him. Have a look at the photographs on his website, mine didn't do justice to the collection he had there.


...and Swords



Then after leaving Kyoto and on the way to Hiroshima, I found the Bizen-Osafune Sword Village just East of Okayama. Again, please excuse me for getting technical for a minute here, there's at least 2 other metallurgists on my address list that would be interested in this. It's a living museum where they have old swords on display but they educate by making new ones as well, right in front of you. In the museum was a fantastic wakizashi caught my
Phoenix Hall, Byodo-In temple, Uji.Phoenix Hall, Byodo-In temple, Uji.Phoenix Hall, Byodo-In temple, Uji.

The first Battle of Uji, 1180, took place yards from this temple. Its a day-trip from Kyoto and notable for being the scene of the first recorded seppuku, or ritual suicide. Doubtless there were others before this, but none written down. When defeat was inevitable at the hands of the Tiara clan, Minamoto no-Yorimasa wrote his death-poem upon the back of his war-fan ("Like a tree from which we gather no flowers; Sad has been my life; Fated no fruit to produce"), then cut himself open. The temple's on the back of the 10-Yen coin.
eye, made by Yoshimichi in the 1700's where the martensite cutting-edge had amazing swooping patterns like cirrus clouds. There were older blades from the 14 and 1500's too, and one that had been sharpened so often it didn't have the correct width - I'm presuming it had seen some action.

Also on the site they had guys, and a girl, laquering the scabbards, polishing blades and making and wrapping the handles with ray-skin and cord. And on the day I was there I was lucky enough to attend a forging demonstration. The smith and two assistants heated and hammered a piece of dummy steel. I knew it was a dummy because I saw it before it was pushed into the furnace - it was just a lump they hammer around for spectators - but also because they let me have a go hammering. Some muscles those guys, biggest hammer-head I think I have ever seen.

Didn't buy a sword, can't afford one. It would cost as much as an executive car. So as far as enjoying artistic bits of metal are concerned, I'll have to make do with my Titanium cufflinks for now.



Being away at
Bizen-Osafune Sword Museum IBizen-Osafune Sword Museum IBizen-Osafune Sword Museum I

These 2 guys in the white are about to hammer the living daylights out of the bit of steel that bald guy's got in the furnace. Later on, I got to whack the shape back [i]out[/i] of it.
this time of year, I have of course 'opted out' of Christmas. Except for the fact that I won't see my family, there are some good things about this. No last-minute shopping and having to fork out for pay-and-display tickets that are either 10p below or above the next pound-coin, for example. No Del and Rodney; no Eastenders, X-Factor or Brucie either. No sprouts. No Richard Curtis (he'll never be cool until he makes a film with a sad ending) and no Harry Potter. No God, no "Paa-Rum-Pum-Pum-Pum" Little Drummer Boy and no Queen's speech.

So whatever you lot are up to, and whether your God is alcohol or Allah, please take care and I wish you all a safe, peaceful and happy festive season.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Kyoto Station Christmas TreeKyoto Station Christmas Tree
Kyoto Station Christmas Tree

Now; these people are looking at the Christmas tree in Kyoto station. It's a big one, and I haven't given you a picture of it because you know what it's doing - it does that flashing-on-and-off thing that Christmas trees do. This one plays Wham and Mariah Carey "All I Want for Christmas is You" as well. But you'd think this lot had never seen one before. They're fascinated by it. Couples, mostly, not many children. Japan isn't a Christian country so I wonder if this is still a little new for them. I couln't help it, I came over all sorry for them and wanted to get a bunch of presents and take them all home with me:"Look, here, this is how we do it- here: this is for [i]you[/i], and this is for [i]you[/i]..."
Pocari SweatPocari Sweat
Pocari Sweat

Don't ask; I- ...well, I have no idea at all. The only jokes I have been able to come up with are rubbish, so you're going to have to make up your own.


23rd December 2008

The Train
That train looks like Ian Rush
23rd December 2008

Company
Dear Goober. Would you like company for the New Year? If so, I can be on a flight to Tokyo or some other lplace full of fuzzy wuzzies and foreign johnies asap. tiddles
23rd December 2008

You have missed your true vocation
Martin, it's a delight to read your blog. I'm still quietly amazed that being a pipeline engineer you are actually literate! You really have missed your true vocation as a travel writer. Now there's an idea.............. Happy holidays x
23rd December 2008

Christmas Greetings
Hi Martin really enjoying the travel blog. You manage to make it entertaining and educational not an easy feat. I hope you find someone special to share your bottle of whisky with on Christmas Day. Woodyx
23rd December 2008

Shame you didn't buy a sword, you could have always sold your car when you got back, I'm sure the sword would have been more usefull living in Torry an all. Enjoy your wee dram of Hakushu at Christmas. Have a good one, I'll raise a glass to you on the day... ho ho ho
24th December 2008

Right Martin, I'm getting bored with Japan now - time to move on. P.S. Hope you get your chestnuts roasted for Christmas. Merry Crimble and all that ...
24th December 2008

Not bored at all...
Actually Barrowland Earplugs, I`m not bored at all and am wishing I hadn`t already booked a flight out of here to my next destination, because I could easily kick around here for another few weeks yet. And I have even more stories about Japan to tell you all before I leave, so watch out for another entry. Hope you lot survived the Christmas parties. Thanks once again to everybody for your kind thoughts, compliments and best wishes, and also to those that have chosen to comment in private. I`ll be in touch again soon.
24th December 2008

here´s an idea
Hi Mart, love your stories and way of traveling..going out to these places not in the guidebook, you are a proper back packer! But here is an idea to save you some space and potentially buy some stuff you really want. Ship things home....I did that from Australia, by boat it takes about 2/3 months, but doesn´t costs a lot. If it is not that heavy, sent it home by mail...(like the kimono). Any way, hope you find some people fun and interesting to share Xmas & NYE eve with, but to be honest...next year is another Xmas and NYE, so don´t be too sad if you are just traveling on those days. Big hugs, D.
24th December 2008

santa
have a good one. Stay safe. Just been on Track Santa website and at 13.27 GMT, he's already 'done' Japan and New Zealand. Jess and Tash want to know if you saw him on the way past?
24th December 2008

Santa-san`s current location
Sig: please tell Jess and Tash that of course nobody ever actually sees Santa Claus, you only ever hear his boots on the roof and if you are lucky, the bells on his reindeer as they take off again. So no, I didn`t see him. But there was a fast streak of light at high altitude, heading West, shortly after tea-time tonight, so that might have been him.
30th December 2008

Awesome
Love the blog Martin! Keep em coming. Merry Christmas to you and Happy New Year too.. ! See you soon!! XX Shaz

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb