Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
May 29th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, we just got to spend the entire day with my friend Yayoi and at one of my favorite places in the world, the Temple of the Golden Pavillion.
Yayoi got here by 8a.m. and we went to breakfast nearby. Yayoi knows that I love to eat and we always laugh about our visits and how they are about eating. She had checked for a restaurant that would serve a Japanese breakfast so she knew just where to take us. We had grilled salmon, miso soup an egg and some veges.
With a full stomach we were able to get on with the business at hand, getting to the Golden Pavillion. Rain was forecast but the skies were full of puffy clouds and sun, a perfect day for Kyoto.
We saw the Golden Pavillion and walked the gardens. I wanted for Mike to have tea in the tea house, something Yayoi and I have done. Then after buying the mask that I'd waited 8 years to buy we went our our way.
We'd decided to have some lunch before going to a shrine and I found that I'd left my cell phone at the Pavillion when I was trying to get coins out of my money carrier. I was lucky as the phone was at the booth still and the women there were so happy when I showed up. I was very happy too.
It was back to lunch then off to the shrine. I'd read about the shrine, where they put on a Noh play on June 1 & 2. We were going to miss it but they were setting up for the play in one of the courtyards. Apparently they have a bonfire also. I really want to come back for that some year.
We were walking in the gardens where they shape pine trees using the same techniques as those used for bonsai trees. Mike stepped back to get a photo but stepped off of the walkway, stepping down into the little lake. He went crashing down and we about died laughing. Fortunately he had his camera in his left hand so it did not get wet. Another visitor was behind us with his camera and I really think that he video taped it. He followed us the remainder of our walk always just behind enough with his camera in his hand.
We headed over to the Goin Corner located in the old part of Kyoto where we saw a 1 hour performance of Japanese dance, puppet show, music and things typical to Japan. Then it was off to dinner of sachimi, and lots of good stuff. We picked up more street food then brought it back to the hotel where we made tea and ate again.
All of us are fat and happy and Yayoi rolled off into the taxi to go home. I'll be back again someday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.495s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb